Golf 2018-09-27T14:25:05+00:00

Allstate Sugar Bowl Golf

Tommy Moore Memorial Junior Golf Championship

The Kelly Gibson Foundation, in partnership with Allstate Sugar Bowl, operates the Tommy Moore Memorial Junior Golf Championship (TMMJGC), a two-day tournament held in New Orleans with the field comprised of top-rated boys and girls ages 13-18 from throughout the Gulf South Region and across the country. The eighth annual event is scheduled for December 27-28, 2018 at TPC of Louisiana.

The 2017 Girls’ 13-18 Division was won by 16-year old Yujeong Son from Norman, Okla., her third straight title. Fisher Vollendorf from Fayetteville, Ark., won the Boys’ 16-18 Division, and Keaton Vo of Austin, Texas, was the Boys’ 13-15 Champion.

In conjunction with the TMMJGC, the Allstate Sugar Bowl also awards four scholarships worth a total of $15,000 each summer at the Kelly Gibson Foundations’ annual banquet.

Allstate Sugar Bowl TMMJGC Scholarship Winners

Allstate Sugar Bowl TMMJGC Champions

Tommy Moore was one of the best junior golfers to ever emerge from the New Orleans area. He was ranked the No. 1 junior golfer in the United States by Golf Digest magazine in 1980. A very accomplished junior and collegiate golfer, he went on to earn his PGA Tour Card, and won the Nike Tour Boise open in 1993.

Moore and Kelly Gibson, also a PGA Tour Professional and New Orleans native, grew up together playing golf on the Westbank and eventually travelled the world together while competing on the PGA Tour. Not only were they fellow athletes, but also best friends. Sadly, Moore died of a rare blood disease in 1998 at the age of 36. Hosting the Tommy Moore Memorial Junior Golf Championship at Lakewood Golf Club where Tommy and Kelly played in so many tournaments as juniors is especially meaningful to both the Moore Family and the New Orleans golf community as a whole.

In addition to honoring Tommy Moore’s legacy of achievement and integrity, the TMMJGC will also increase exposure for the Allstate Sugar Bowl as Presenting Partner of the tournament. Proceeds from this championship will go into a scholarship fund for members of The Kelly Gibson Junior Golf Tour. Each year, the Kelly Gibson Junior Golf Tour awards thousands of dollars in college scholarships to its eligible participants. Scholarships are awarded based on community service, grade point average, and financial need, not golfing ability.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate Golf Championship

For the ninth straight year, Tulane University and the Allstate Sugar Bowl will team up to bring many of the nation’s top women’s collegiate golfers to the Crescent City for the Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate Golf Championship (February 17-19, 2019) at English Turn Golf and Country Club. The three-day, 54-hole event is scheduled for 18 holes each day on the par-72, 6,200-yard course.

The University of Florida captured its second title in three years at the 2018 event. The Gators were led by individual champion Sierra Brooks, who bested her closest competition by four strokes, through the three days of sunny weather, though winds made the final two rounds challenging.

The No. 18-ranked Gators, who also collected the team title in 2016, held off No. 11 USC, the only other program with two championships in the event (2011, 2013), by nine strokes, 873-882. Florida, which led after each day this year, finished second to Stanford last year.

No. 13 Michigan State (888), N.C. State (893) and SMU (895) rounded out the top five. Other nationally-ranked teams in action were No. 8 Oklahoma State (eighth), No. 20 Denver (16th) and No. 21 Houston (10th). Host Tulane finished 17th overall.

2010 Allstate Sugar Bowl Mardi Gras Invitational
In the spring of 2010, the Bowl was the title sponsor of the Allstate Sugar Bowl Mardi Gras Invitational Men’s Golf Tournament at the TPC Louisiana in Avondale. The event was hosted by the University of New Orleans and featured 15 Division I teams in action.

Full UNO Story with Results

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo