WKU’s Bailey Zappe Named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 4, 2021) – Bailey Zappe, a graduate student from Western Kentucky University, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Zappe, a Victoria, Texas, native, completed 33-of-45 passes (73.3%) for 393 yards, with four passing touchdowns and one rushing touchdown in WKU’s 45-13 dismantling of Charlotte on Saturday. He was named the Conference USA Offensive Player of the Week, becoming the first three-time winner this season.

Manning Award Stars of the Week, November 1, 2021

Overall, Zappe is 279-of-391 (71.4%) for 3,407 yards (FBS-best 425.9 yards per game) with 33 touchdowns (leads FBS), compared to only 6 interceptions (1 every 65.2 attempts). Zappe has thrown for at least 365+ yards and 3+ touchdowns in all 8 games so far this season.

Zappe and the Hilltoppers will be looking to notch their fourth-straight win as they welcome Middle Tennessee to Houchens-Smith Stadium on Saturday at 2:30 p.m. CT.

The closest competition for Zappe came from West Virginia’s Jarret Doege and Matt McDonald of Bowling Green. Doege, who notched the eighth 300-yard game of his career, completed 30-of-46 passes for 370 yards and three touchdowns. He connected on a 22-yard TD early in the fourth quarter to tie the game and then directed another fourth-quarter scoring drive as the Mountaineers took down No. 22 Iowa State, 38-31, in Big 12 play. McDonald went 13-of-19 for 263 yards and a career-best four touchdowns while also running for a 47-yard score to cap the Falcons’ first MAC victory of the season, 56-44, over Buffalo on the road.

The Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and made 15 midseason additions in October. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 17 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 13 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Mac Jones, Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with six Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) have each had two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.