Xavier Tennis Star Mariia Borodii Earns March Athlete of the Month Honor

NEW ORLEANS (April 12, 2018) – Mariia Borodii, a freshman star for the Xavier University women’s tennis team, has been selected as the Greater New Orleans Amateur Athlete of the Month honor for March. Monthly award-winners are chosen in voting by the Greater New Orleans Sports Award Selection Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Greater New Orleans Amateur Athletes of the Month

Borodii, a freshman from Zapozizhzhia, Ukraine, has led the Gold Nuggets into the top five of the NAIA national rankings (fourth as of Tuesday). In March, she posted a perfect 6-0 record in singles and a 6-1 mark in doubles, playing at the No. 1 position in both disciplines. In singles, she already owns wins over the NAIA’s No. 8, No. 18 and No. 32 ranked players. In doubles, she has teamed with Yi Chen Pao to collect victories over the No. 6, No. 10, No. 11, No. 13 and No. 14 tandems in the country. On March 15 Borodii became the first Xavier women’s tennis player to earn simultaneous top-3 rankings in singles and doubles. She’s No. 2 in singles and No. 3 in doubles in the ITA NAIA rankings. For the season, Borodii is 13-0 in singles and 13-3 in doubles.

Also nominated for the March honor was Will Ripoll from the John Curtis baseball squad. For the month of March, Ripoll registered a perfect 4-0 record posting a 0.66 ERA through 21 1/3 innings pitched, while striking out 31. The 6-0, 185-pound LSU signee mowed down the competition including a perfect-game performance March 22nd against Rummel. In that contest the right-hander faced 15 batters, striking out 12 and forcing three ground outs.

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee has been selecting an Amateur Athlete of the Month each month since 1957. The athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region in order to be eligible. Each of the monthly award winners will be honored in the summer at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony, hosted by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.