Washington State’s Luke Falk Earns Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 28, 2017) – Luke Falk, a senior from Washington State University, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Facebook Voting

Falk completed 36-of-47 passes for 478 yards and five touchdowns, marking his ninth career five-touchdown game, as he led the Cougars to a 45-7 win over Nevada to give them their best start (4-0) since 2001. His 478 yards brings his WSU record total to 12,271 which ranks fifth in Pac-12 history.

Falk leads the FBS with a 76.9 completion percentage (tied with Houston’s Kyle Allen) and places fifth nationally with 1,378 yards and second with 14 touchdowns — to only one interception. The No. 16 Cougars will close out its season-opening five-game homestand against No. 5 USC on Friday at Martin Stadium. Kickoff is set for 9:30 p.m. CT on ESPN.

Falk’s top competitors this week were Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma and Virginia’s Kurt Benkert. Mayfield completed 13-of-19 passes for 283 yards and three touchdowns in a 49-41 conference road win over Baylor, matching a school record with its 17th straight Big 12 victory. Benkert completed 19-of-29 passes for 273 yards and three touchdowns to help lift the Cavaliers to their third win of the season, surpassing last year’s total, as they went on the road for a 42-23 victory, the worst home loss for Boise State since 2001.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

Manning Award

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.