ULL's Lexie Elkins Wins 2014-15 Corbett Award Presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl


ULL's Lexie Elkins Wins 2014-15 Corbett Award Presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl park

Lexie Elkins, the star catcher for the UL-Lafayette softball team, has been selected as the female winner of the 2014-15 James J. Corbett Award presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl. The Corbett Awards are presented annually to the top male and female amateur athletes in the state of Louisiana. They are selected by the Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, a group of current and former media members who select the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame, as well as annual award winners in a variety of categories, including the Corbett Awards and the Eddie Robinson Award.

This year's Corbett winners will be recognized along with 23 other individuals and two teams at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, August 8, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The male Corbett winner will be announced tomorrow while this year's Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame class will be released next week.

More Info and History of Awards:
Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame
Eddie Robinson Award
Annual Awards
James J. Corbett Awards
Jimmy Collins Special Awards

In her debut season at UL-Lafayette last year, Elkins, a Texas native, showed much promise as a Ragin' Cajun softballer. As a junior, she fulfilled it.

Both the Cajuns and Elkins had tremendous years on the diamond, reaching the Super Regional round of the NCAA Tournament for the fourth straight season. And super-slugger Elkins is the winner of this year's James J. Corbett Award, presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl to the most outstanding amateur athlete in the state. She is the fourth Cajun to win the award in the last seven years, and the fifth softball player overall to win.

"It means a lot," Elkins said. "But I couldn't have done it without my support team behind me. Coach Mike (Lotief), my teammates and everybody behind the scenes."

Elkins, who spent her freshman season at Texas Tech, had been the Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year in 2014, as well as an NFCA Third Team All-American and the Louisiana Sports Writers Association's All-Louisiana Hitter of the Year and Newcomer of the Year.

But not one to rest on her laurels, the Cajun's second-year starting catcher simply continued her success in 2015. She led the nation in home runs, finishing with a single-season school record of 32, tying UTEP's Camilla Carrera for the second-most hit in NCAA Division I history. Her 0.59 home runs per game was just shy of the NCAA single season record and she became one of only eight players in NCAA Division I history to hit 30 or more in a season. She also led the nation in RBIs with 83, the third-highest total in school history. She and 2012 Corbett winner Christi Orgeron are the only players to reach 80 RBIs. Elkins also set a new school record for slugging percentage at 1.077, breaking Danyele Gomez's record of .957 from 2006, and becoming the first Cajun to finish above 1.000.

Not surprisingly, Elkins was the Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year for the second year in a row and an NFCA first-team All-American, becoming only the 13th player in school history to be named All-American at least twice in a career. She also was a finalist for USA Softball Player of the Year.

"It's all about her," Lotief told ESPNW earlier this year. "That kid's competitive, incredible hand-eye, the work ethic, pitch recognition. I mean, she's the total package. And she's been a pleasure to be around. She's made me better."

"I didn't plan to do what I did," Elkins said. "I just went out and did what I always do. I'm proud of how our team fought back from adversity this year. We started kind of slow and then got going."

The Ragin Cajuns completed the season 42-12, winning the Sun Belt Championship for the 13th time in the last 15 seasons while finishing in either a Super Regional or the Women's College World Series for the fourth straight year.

Elkins still shows great promise, of course. She will enter her senior season with 56 career home runs, leaving her 27 shy of the Cajuns' career record of 83 hit by Gomez.

The Corbett Award was created in 1967 and named in honor of the late James J. Corbett to commemorate his many contributions to intercollegiate athletics and specifically to the Sugar Bowl. At the time of his death, Mr. Corbett was the Athletic Director at Louisiana State University. These awards are presented annually to the most outstanding amateur male and female athletes in the State of Louisiana. The Corbett recipients are selected each year by members of the New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, based on nominations submitted by the state's sportswriters, sportscasters and sports information directors.

Since its inception in 1967 (through 2014), Corbett Award winners include 16 NFL players, eight Major League Baseball players, four NBA players (including two Hall of Famers), eight Olympians (including seven Gold Medal winners), three WNBA players and one PGA Tour star.

Story submitted by Lori Lyons of the Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee.