Twenty Teams Remain Under Consideration for BCS Slots


Twenty Teams Remain Under Consideration for BCS Slots park

Twenty teams remain under consideration to participate in the five games that comprise the Bowl Championship Series (BCS), it was announced Tuesday. Ohio State, as Big Ten co-Champion, has already earned an automatic berth to the BCS.

BCS Standings Update, Nov. 22

The teams were identified during a teleconference among the 11 Football Bowl Subdivision conference commissioners, the Notre Dame athletics director, and representatives from the FedEx Orange Bowl, Allstate Sugar Bowl, Tostitos Fiesta Bowl and the Rose Bowl Game presented by Citi, as well as Fox and ABC. The No. 1 and No. 2 teams in the final BCS standings will meet in the Citi BCS National Championship Game January 7 in Pasadena, Calif.

The champions of the Atlantic Coast, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-10 and Southeastern Conferences automatically qualify for a BCS game. In addition, four at-large berths are available. The highest-ranked conference champion from among Conference USA, the Mid-American, Mountain West, Sun Belt and Western Athletic Conferences earns a guaranteed berth in one of the BCS games if that champion is ranked No. 12 or better in the final BCS standings or is ranked in the top 16 of the final BCS standings and its ranking is higher than that of a champion of a conference that has an annual automatic berth. No conference may place more than two teams in the BCS games, unless the conference has two teams in the National Championship Game, and neither team is its champion.

Other than as set forth above, to be eligible for at-large selection by a bowl, a team must have nine regular-season victories and must be ranked in the top 14 of the final BCS standings, which will be compiled on December 6. The BCS bowl pairings will be announced at 8 p.m. Eastern time that day, on Fox television.

The champions from the five other conferences which receive automatic spots in the BCS games have not been determined. The following is a list of teams still contending for their conferences' championships:

  • ACC: Clemson, Georgia Tech
  • Big East: Cincinnati, Pittsburgh
  • Big 12: Nebraska, Texas
  • Pac-10: Oregon, Oregon State
  • SEC: Alabama, Florida

In addition to those 10 teams and Ohio State, the pool of teams remaining under consideration also includes (in alphabetical order):

Boise State, Brigham Young, Iowa, LSU, Miami (Fla.), Oklahoma State, Penn State, Southern California, Texas Christian, Virginia Tech.

Following is the schedule of the BCS games (television network in parenthesis):

            January 1 – Rose Bowl Presented by Citi (AB )

            January 1 – All State Sugar Bowl (Fox)

            January 4 – Tostitos Fiesta Bowl (Fox)

            January 5 – FedEx Orange Bowl (Fox)

            January 7 – Citi BCS National Championship Game (ABC)

About the Bowl Championship Series
The BCS is a five-game arrangement for post-season college football that is managed by the 11 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences and Notre Dame.  Its purpose is to match the two top-ranked teams in the final BCS standings in a national championship game and to create competitive match-ups in the four other BCS bowl games.  For more information, visit