Twenty-Six Awards Presented at Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet

The Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet featured the presentation of 26 awards, including four inductees into the Hall of Fame and the male and female Corbett Award winners as the top amateur athletes in the state of Louisiana. The sold-out event was held Saturday evening at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

Photo Gallery

Corbett Awards
Female: Lexie Elkins (UL-Lafayette Softball)
Male: Leonard Fournette (LSU Football)

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Inductees
Randy Livingston (Basketball; Newman School/LSU/NBA, 1988-2007)
Kordell Stewart (Football; John Ehret HS/Colorado/NFL, 1988-2005)
Tommy Wilcox (Football; Bonnabel HS/Alabama, 1973-84)
Marc Zeno (Football; Lutcher HS/Tulane, 1979-87)

Eddie Robinson Award
Joe Scheuermann (Baseball Coach/Athletic Director, Delgado Community College)

Jimmy Collins Special Awards
Princeton Carter (Newman School)
Gabrielle Jennings (First Baptist Christian School)

Annual Award Winners
Outstanding Boys Prep Team, New Orleans: St. Paul’s Soccer
Outstanding Girls Prep Team, New Orleans: Ursuline Basketball
Outstanding Girls Prep Coach, New Orleans: Andrea Williams (Ursuline Basketball)
Outstanding Boys Prep Coach, New Orleans: Robert Dauterive (Brother Martin Wrestling)
Outstanding Female Amateur, New Orleans: Kristin Nuss (Mount Carmel Volleyball/Basketball)
Outstanding Male Amateur, New Orleans: Leonard Fournette (LSU Football)
Outstanding College Coach, Louisiana: Alan Green (Xavier Men’s Tennis)

Greater New Orleans Amateur Athletes of the Month
June, 2015: Dylan Duvio (Stanford Track & Field)
July, 2015: Price Butcher (Newman Golf)
August, 2015: Brooks Vial (New Orleans Boosters Baseball)
September, 2015: Bruce Jordan-Swilling (Brother Martin Football)
October, 2015: Leonard Fournette (LSU Football)
November, 2015: Dominick Koepfer (Tulane Tennis)
December, 2015: Aldon Clark (Edna Karr Football)
January, 2016: Devyn Keith (John Curtis Track)
February, 2016: Guy Patron, Jr. (Jesuit Wrestling)
March, 2016: Kristin Nuss (Mount Carmel Basketball)
April, 2016: Karlie Perque (Cabrini Softball)
May, 2016: Gabrielle Jennings (First Baptist Track)

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee began in 1957 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 13 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. While adding the responsibility of selecting Hall of Famers, the committee has continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month – the honors enter their 60th year in 2016. To be eligible, an athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 27 national champions, 88 Hall of Fame players, 47 Hall of Fame coaches and 17 Heisman Trophy winners in its 82-year history. The 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 2, 2017. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.3 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 25,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2 billion into the local economy in the last decade.