Michigan State’s Payton Thorne Named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 23, 2021) – Payton Thorne, a redshirt sophomore from Michigan State University, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Facebook Voting Results

Thorne, a Naperville, Ill. native, completed 18-of-31 passes for 261 yards and a career-high four touchdowns as the Spartans put together a 21-point fourth quarter rally to upend No. 24 Miami, 38-17.

The 6-foot-2, 210-pound signal caller became just the second QB in school history to throw for four scores in back-to-back games. He was also named the Big Ten Co-Offensive Player of the Week. Thorne ranks first in the Big Ten in passing efficiency (180.1 rating) and touchdown passes (9) through the first three weeks of the season. He has completed 62 percent of his passes (48-of-77) for 726 yards and ranks sixth in the Big Ten in passing yards per game (242.0).

Thorne and the No. 20 Michigan State Spartans will host Nebraska on Saturday, Sept. 25, at 6 p.m. CT in Spartan Stadium on FS1.

The closest competition for Thorne and the Spartan fans came from Ole Miss’ Matt Corral and Jake Haener of Fresno State. Corral, who played less than three quarters in a 61-21 win over Tulane, completed 23-of-31 passes for 335 yards and three touchdowns and set the school record for total touchdowns with seven (he also rushed for four scores). Haener, the national leader in passing yardage, completed 39-of-53 passes for 455 yards and two touchdowns as the Bulldogs beat their highest ranked opponent since 2004 with a 40-37 win over No. 13 UCLA.

While the Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 17 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 13 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Mac Jones, Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with six Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) have each had two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.