The Allstate Sugar Bowl Believes in Champions

Champions have long defined the Allstate Sugar Bowl. The list of Hall of Fame athletes who have competed in the annual contest is staggering.

Coaches and players who have taken part in one of college football’s premiere bowls represent the finest of the sport. Heisman Trophy winners, future NFL Super Bowl champions and national championship coaches have made their mark in the annual game that brings in thousands of fans and millions of television viewers.

But the list of champions extends well past the football game. Since its inception in 1934, the Allstate Sugar Bowl has given opportunities to young athletes in many amateur sporting events.

The organization has sponsored a long list of competitions around the Greater New Orleans area and Louisiana. These include events in baseball, basketball, bowling, cross country, football, golf, gymnastics, lacrosse, powerlifting, regatta/sailing, road racing, soccer, softball, swimming, tennis, track & field, volleyball and wrestling.

The Sugar Bowl also sponsors the Manning Award for the top collegiate quarterback in the country, the Eddie Robinson Award for the national coach of the year, the New Orleans Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame and a free annual youth clinic for more than 400 children.

Those who have participated include Hall of Famers in several sports and Olympic gold medalists. But it also includes men and women who have gone on to success in other fields.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has published 21 stories on athletes who have competed in Sugar Bowl events and then gone on to excellence after their New Orleans’ experiences.

Feature No. 21: Jake Gibbs, Ole Miss Football
Feature No. 20: Charles Davis, Tennessee Football
Feature No. 19: Caleb Hurd, Virginia Tech Football
Feature No. 18: Dusty Renfro, Texas Football
Feature No. 17: Wayne Messam, Florida State Football
Feature No. 16: Stephen McGuire, Miami Football
Feature No. 15: Frank Ros, Georgia Football
Feature No. 14: Haley Moore, Golf
Feature No. 13: Davey O’Brien, Football
Feature No. 12: Sean Tuohy, Basketball
Feature No. 11: Aleia Hobbs, Track & Field
Feature No. 10: Shaquille O’Neal, Basketball
Feature No. 9: Archie Manning, Football
Feature No. 8: Julio Jones, Football/Track & Field
Feature No. 7: Barbara Farris, Basketball
Feature No. 6: Hal Sutton, Golf
Feature No. 5: Janice Davis, Track & Field
Feature No. 4: Jemima Jelaget Sumgong, Road Racing
Feature No. 3: Patrick Mullins, Soccer
Feature No. 2: Bob Cousy, Basketball
Feature No. 1: Derek Wolfe, Football

From its earliest years, the Sugar Bowl Committee has been honored to provide opportunities for young athletes from around the country. That’s because, at the Allstate Sugar Bowl, We Believe in Champions.