Allstate Sugar Bowl Welcomes Nation’s Top Junior Tennis Players

NEW ORLEANS (November 12, 2019) – The third annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Classic hosted by New Orleans City Park Tennis Center saw 256 of the top junior tennis players in the country battle for championships in 16 different events this weekend. Finals were played at the City Park Tennis Center on a beautiful Monday morning and afternoon.

Official Tournament Site

Players from throughout the United States were able to apply to compete in this year’s tournament; however, only the top 32 nationally ranked applicants in each event qualified to compete resulting in representation from 34 states and Puerto Rico.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Classic is a USTA National Tournament. It is a USTA National Qualifying Tournament for female and male players ages 12 to 18 years old that reside anywhere within the United States. The top 32 applicants in each age / gender division earn entry into the tournament.  The tournament hosts both singles and doubles in every age division (Boys & Girls 12, 14, 16 and 18).

Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Classic Champions

Ellis Short (Boca Raton, Fla.) def. Jake Vassel (Danville, Calif.), 2-6, 6-1, 6-3

Alex Cairo (Dallas) def. Preston Stearns (Mason, Ohio), 6-2, 6-4

Francesco Cordova (Katy, Texas) def. Easton Horricks (Houston), 3-6, 6-2, 7-6

Calvin Baieri (Naples, Fla.) def. Noah Kulendran (Plantation, Fla.), 6-1, 6-1

Filippa Bruu-Syversen (Chatham, N.J.) def. Sophia Fomaris (Pinecrest, Fla.), 6-4, 6-2

Ireland Simme (Austin, Texas) def. Vivian Miller (Sullivans Island, S.C.), 7-6, 6-0

Conley Raidt (Brentwood, Tenn.) def. Alana Boyce (Huntsville, Ala.), 7-5, 6-3

Alba Martinez (Weston, Fla.) def. Ishiki Khune (Plantation, Fla.), 6-3, 6-2


Boys 18
Jameson Corsillo (Boca Raton, Fla.)/Alexander Karman (Port Washington, N.Y.) def. Matthew Pitts (Greer, S.C.)/Stafford Yerger (Shreveport, La.), 8-1

Boys 16
Nathan Cox (Lake Charles, La.)/Zamaan Moledina (Delray Beach, Fla.) def. Abraar Iqbal/Deacon Thomas (Houston), 8-2

Boys 14
Cassius Chinlund (Los Angeles)/Jagger Leach (Laguna Beach, Calif.) def. Ethan Flores (Houston)/Anirudh Reddy (Plano, Texas), 9-7

Boys 12
Calvin Baieri (Naples, Fla.)/Noah Kulendran (Plantation, Fla.) def. Colton Boyce (Huntsville, Ala.)/Evan Rigsby (Roswell, G.a), 8-4

Girls 18
Imani Graham (Saint Johns, Fla.) /Brooke Theis (Lake Forest, Ill.) def. Isabella Flodin (Dallas)/Hannah Pinto (Dallas), 8-0

Girls 16
Vivian Miller (Sullivans Island, S.C.)/Sanjana Tallamraju (Munster, Ill.) def. Margaret Navarro (Charleston, S.C.)/Alice Otis (Charleston, S.C.), 8-6

Girls 14
Conley Raidt (Brentwood, Tenn.)/Saray Yli-Piipari (Athens, Ga.) def. Selena Bird (Miramar, Fla.)/Olivia Bustos (Doral, Fla.), 8-2

Girls 12
Leila Javaheri (Longwood, Fla.)/Alba Martinez (Weston, Fla.) def. Reese Calvo (Hallandale Beach, Fla.)/Berklie Simmering (Fort Myers, Fla.), 8-3

States Represented: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin.

The mission of the Allstate Sugar Bowl is to sponsor and promote amateur sporting events which will foster revenue and spark economic growth in the city of New Orleans and the state of Louisiana. Through its year-round slate of events, the organization has generated over $2.5 billion of economic impact for the city and the state in the last decade alone.