Allstate Sugar Bowl Hosts Top AAU Basketball Players for Memorial Day

Photo by Wally Porter

NEW ORLEANS (May 29, 2018) – The Allstate Sugar Bowl sponsored the Primetime Super 60 AAU Basketball Tournament for the seventh year over Memorial Day weekend in New Orleans.

The event featured 249 boys’ teams, including many of the top-rated AAU teams in the country, from second-grade to eighth-grade and 70 girls’ teams from sixth to 11th grade. Teams played multiple games at 24 locations around the city. The tournament featured young athletes from 17 different states and drew 10,000-12,000 visitors to the city.

The states represented in the Super 60 tournament are Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Wisconsin.

Boys Division Winners (249 total teams)
Eight & Under (6 teams): GCE (Ga.) def. Steel City Gators (Ala.)
Nine & Under (16 teams) Gold Bracket: Houston Hoops Blue Chips def. Team Edition (Fla.)
Nine & Under Purple Bracket: Triple Threat Raptors (La.) def. Jarell Martin (La.)
10 & Under (18 teams) Gold Bracket: Meanstreets (Ill.) def. T.J. Lakers (Md.)
10 & Under Purple Bracket: Tennessee Dream Chasers def. Louisiana All Around Hoopas
11 & Under (36 teams) Gold Bracket: Triple Threat Raptors (La.) def. Memphis Phenoms
11 & Under Purple Bracket: YGLA (La.) def. Wellington Wolves (Fla.)
11 & Under Green Bracket: Hub City Elite (La.) def. Hoover Havoc (Ala.)
12 & Under (36 teams) Gold Bracket: Chasers 2024 (Ga.) def. We It Ballers (La.)
12 & Under Purple Bracket: Inland Force (Calif.) def. Ball City Elite (La.)
12 & Under Green Bracket: HP Ballers (La.) def. Texas Premier Sharks
Sixth Grade (15 teams) Gold Bracket: UEB Trojans (Ga.) def. Mo City Ballers (Texas)
Sixth Grade Purple Bracket: XL’s Prospects (Texas) def. Houston Trailblazers
13 & Under (31 teams) Gold Bracket: Triple Threat Raptors (La.) def. River Parish Knights (La.)
13 & Under Purple Bracket: River Region Raptors (La.) def. SoCal Bravehearts (Calif.)
13 & Under Green Bracket: Fleur De Lis (La.) def. Total Package (Texas)
Seventh Grade (19 teams) Gold Bracket: Lone Star United (Texas) def. RW3 All-Stars (La.)
Seventh Grade Purple Bracket: Houston Defenders 2023 def. Diesel Elite (Ala.)
14 & Under (24 teams) Gold Bracket: MC Warriors (Ala.) def. Team DEZ (Tenn.)
14 & Under Purple Bracket: Team Warriors (La.) def. LA Jaguars (La.)
14 & Under Green Bracket: VA Hoops (Texas) def. Mo City Ballers (Texas)
Eighth Grade (40 teams) Gold Bracket: Drive5 Power Elite (Kan.) def. Houston Flight
Eighth Grade Purple Bracket: Wellington Wolves Gold (Fla.) def. Louisiana Blazers
Eighth Grade Green Bracket: Windy City Alllstars (Ill.) def. Sports Academy Garrett Temple (La.)
15 & Under (8 teams) Gold Bracket: Team Thad Warriors (Tenn.) def. Trill Warriors (La.)

Girls Division Winners (70 total teams)
Sixth Grade (12 teams) Gold Bracket: Lady Shockaz (La.) def. Lady Blazers Elite (La.)
Sixth Grade Purple Bracket: Elevate New Orleans def. Ballers Basketball (Texas)
Seventh Grade (8 teams) Gold Bracket: Memphis Lady Wareagles def. Team Up Next (La.)
Seventh Grade Purple Bracket: Lake City Pride (La.) def. Louisiana Prodigy Elite
Eighth Grade (18 teams) Gold Bracket: Memphis War Eagles def. Louisiana Lobos
Eighth Grade Purple Bracket: Louisiana All Around Hoopas def. Livingston Ladies Sibley (La.)
Ninth Grade (7 teams): Livingston Ladies (La.) def. Kenner Angels (La.)
Tenth Grade (9 teams) Gold Bracket: EJ Hoops National (Colo.) def. Lade Blues (La.)
Tenth Grade Purple Bracket: Slidell Sparks (La.) def. Nola Lady Jazz (La.)
Eleventh Grade (16 teams) Gold Bracket: EP Lady Elite (La.) def. Tri-Parish Hurricanes (La.)
Eleventh Grade Purple Bracket: EJ Hoops (Colo.) def. Louisiana Lady Jets Silver

Full Results

The Sugar Bowl, which has a rich history with the sport of basketball dating back to 1936, is scheduled to sponsor three major high school tournaments this year. The roundball schedule began with the eighth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic in January; it continued with the Primetime Super 60 tourney and will wrap up with the 65th annual New Orleans CYO High School Tournament in November. In addition, the Sugar Bowl Committee was a key part of the Local Organizing Committee for the 2012 NCAA Men’s Basketball Final Four and the 2013 NCAA Women’s Final Four and will be a part of the host committee for the 2020 NCAA Women’s Final Four.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 93 Hall of Fame players, 49 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 84-year history. The 85th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring top teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 1, 2019. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors nearly 100,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.