2022 Allstate Sugar Bowl to Feature Big 12 and SEC

NEW ORLEANS (September 1, 2021) – The 88th annual Allstate Sugar Bowl will feature top teams from the Big 12 Conference and the Southeastern Conference and is scheduled to kickoff at 7:45 p.m. on Saturday, January 1, 2022, at the Caesars Superdome. Ticket information will be released soon. Be sure to get exclusive offers and advance notice for official Sugar Bowl tickets by signing up for our mailing list.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl will host the champions of the Big 12 Conference and the SEC unless either or both of those champions are selected for the College Football Playoff. If either of the champions do qualify for the playoff, a replacement team from the conference(s) will play in the Sugar Bowl. In the case of the SEC, the replacement team would be the top-ranked non-playoff team. In the case of the Big 12, the replacement team would be the next non-playoff team with the best record in the regular-season standings. The 2022 Sugar Bowl match-up will be announced on Sunday, December 5 on ESPN.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl will host the Big 12 and the SEC four times in the next five years. The other season (2023), the Sugar Bowl will serve as a College Football Playoff Semifinal (January 1, 2024).

“We didn’t enter this partnership half-heartedly or without a lot of thought and foresight,” Sugar Bowl CEO Jeff Hundley said. “We have two outstanding leagues and arguably the two most decorated conferences in the country in recent history in terms of championship (playoff) appearances and quality of teams.”

The upcoming Sugar Bowl will be the fifth match-up of teams from the Big 12 and the SEC since an agreement was signed by the Allstate Sugar Bowl and the two conferences in 2014. Overall, it will be the 16th Sugar Bowl meeting between teams that now make up the Big 12 and SEC. The first meeting came in the second Sugar Bowl in 1936 when TCU and Hall-of-Famer Sammy Baugh held off LSU and its own Hall-of-Fame quarterback Abe Mickal, 3-2, in a rainy quagmire. Those teams split national championship recognition that season. The Big 12 currently holds a 9-6 advantage.

“We believe we’re at the top of the bowl landscape with these two partners and being part of the College Football Playoff,” said Hundley. “Our objective is to stay there.”

The top four teams in the final CFP Rankings will meet in the College Football Playoff Semifinals (Cotton Bowl and Orange Bowl for this season) on Friday, December 31. The two semifinal winners will play for the College Football Playoff National Championship on January 10 in Indianapolis.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 99 Hall of Fame players, 51 Hall of Fame coaches and 19 Heisman Trophy winners over its 87-year history. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards, scholarships and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.7 billion into the local economy in the last decade.