Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Tournament Welcomes 1,500 Competitors

NEW ORLEANS (November 13, 2017) – The second annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Tournament was played from Saturday to Monday, November 11-13, 2017 at the City Park/Pepsi Tennis Center (5900 Marconi Dr.), considered to be the finest tennis facility in the state. Sugar Bowl junior tennis returned in 2016 after a hiatus of nearly two decades. The event, sanctioned by the United State Tennis Association, draws top players, 12 to 18 years old, from around the nine states of the Southern Section. New Orleans City Park will run the tournament with the support of the Louisiana Tennis Association.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Tournament featured both singles and doubles draws (for boys and girls) with 32 competitors in each bracket for nearly 1,500 competitors taking part in the elite-level tournament. The nine-state Southern region is the largest of the USTA’s 17 sections, said Louisiana Tennis Association Director Robert Worley. The top 56 boys’ and girls’ players in the section may apply to play in the Sugar Bowl tournament, though the draws in each grouping were limited to the top 32-ranked applicants to ensure the highest quality competition possible throughout the brackets.

Boys’ Singles Champions
18: Nicholas Watson (Baton Rouge)
16: Parrish Simmons (Huntsville, Ala.)
14: Ian Rasheed (Mt. Pleasant, S.C.)
12: Jacob Smith (Daniel Island, S.C.)

Girls’ Singles Champions
18: Carly Briggs (Calhoun, Ga.)
16: Katie Weber (Charlotte, N.C.)
14: Jo-Yee Chan (Sugar Hill, Ga.)
12: Riley Crowder

Boys’ Doubles Champions
18: Wesley Barnett/Nicholas Watson
16: Hayden Shoemake/Jake Sweeney
14: Charlie Piegza/Gordon Whitwell
12: Shay Gupta/Jacob Smith

Girls’ Doubles Champions
18: Maggie Cubitt/Anna Ross
16: Katie Andreini/Lara Schneider
14: Christina Danford/Mattie Grace Dermody
12: Sophia Manuel/Melanie Woodbury

Full 2017 Results

The Sugar Bowl sponsored a junior tennis tournament from 1948-1993. It evolved into a collegiate and international tourney from 1993 to 2001.