St. Thomas More Earns Fifth Annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic Title park

St. Thomas More from Lafayette defeated Jesuit High School from New Orleans, 9-3, on Sunday at Lafreniere Park to earn the fifth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic title, becoming the second team ever to own the title.

Defending champions for the past four years, Klein High School from Texas, took home third place as they defeated home state rival, Taylor High School from outside of Houston, by a score of 7-5.

St. Thomas More finished with a perfect 5-0 record in the two-day event, outscoring its opponents 42-11. The championship match began at 1 p.m. under a sky full of clouds and scattered rain throughout the match. The first half began fairly even with each team scoring two goals, but just before halftime, St. Thomas More jumped ahead 4-2.

Jesuit came out of halftime and scored a quick goal, but it was all St. Thomas More after that. The Cougars did not give up another goal and went on to score five in the second half for a 9-3 victory.

This was a very exciting match for the crowd as these two teams faced off last year for the state title. St. Thomas More came out on top of that battle as well as they defeated Jesuit, 10-8, to win the 2010 Louisiana High School Lacrosse League state title.

In Junior Varsity play, Jesuit and St. Thomas More captured the title as co-Champions.

In the collegiate showdown, the Texas Longhorns defeated the Florida State Seminoles, 12 -11, in front of a crowd of over 350 at Pan Am Stadium on Saturday night.

Despite losing the match, Florida State still produced the offensive MVP as attacker AJ Drivas scored six goals on the night. Texas goalie Jordan Lee was named defensive MVP.

For more information and other results please visit https://www.lhsll.com/.

Varsity Results
Saturday, Jan. 30

8 a.m.   Jesuit 13, Lafayette 1
            St. Thomas More 7, Mandeville 1
9 a.m.   Taylor 5, Brother Martin 2
            Klein 10, Ocean Springs 2
10 a.m.  St. Thomas More 12, Rummel 0
            St. Paul's 9, Dutchtown 2
11 a.m.  Ocean Springs 10, Lafayette 5
            Taylor 8, Catholic 0
12 p.m. Brother Martin 7, Mandeville 1
            Klein 8, St. Paul's 3
1 p.m.   Catholic 4, Rummel 4
            Dutchtown 9, Ocean Springs 3
2 p.m.   Taylor 5, Jesuit 2
            St. Paul's 9, Lafayette 3
3 p.m.   Brother Martin 7, Catholic 3
            Mandeville 7, Rummel 3
4 p.m.   St. Thomas More 6, Taylor 2
            Jesuit 4, Klein 3
Varsity Schedule
Sunday, Jan. 31
8 a.m.   St. Thomas More 8, Brother Martin 5
            Jesuit 6, St. Paul's 2
9 a.m.   Taylor 5, Mandeville 2
            Klein 8, Dutchtown 4
11 a.m. 4 vs. 4: St. Paul's 4, Rummel 1
12 p.m. 3 vs. 3: Brother Martin 5, Dutchtown 4
            2 vs. 2: Klein 7, Taylor 5
1 p.m.   Championship: St. Thomas More 9, Jesuit 3