St. Paul’s Wins Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Championship

NEW ORLEANS (December 2, 2017) – St. Paul’s School of Covington won its second Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Championship in three years as it defeated defending tournament champion De La Salle, 46-44, on Saturday evening at Jesuit High School.

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Brackets 2017

Devonte Allen became the fourth player in the 64 years of the tournament to earn MVP honors twice. He joins Bobby Delpit (St. Aloysius, now Brother Martin, 1950, 1951), Brandon Spann (Jesuit, 1997, 1998) and Craig Victor (St. Augustine, 2010, 2011). Allen, who won the MVP honor in 2015 after hitting the game-winning shot in the title game, scored 23 points in Saturday’s championship victory.

Allen was joined on the all-tournament team by Parker Edwards (St. Paul’s), Abiram Frye (De La Salle), Glenn Grover, Jr. (Hahnville), Jalen Henry (De La Salle) and Kolby Warren (Slidell).

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Championship, December 2
St. Paul’s def. De La Salle, 46-44 (SPS: Devonte Allen 23, Parker Edwards 13; DLS: Jalen Ned 14, Abiram Frye 13)

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Semifinals, December 1
De La Salle def. Hahnville, 64-48 (Abiram Frye, DLS: 22; Dylan Lorio, HHS: 13)
St. Paul’s def. Slidell, 64-54 (Parker Edwards, SPS: 28; Trey Davis & Kolby Warren, SHS: 16)

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Consolation Games, December 2
John Curtis def. Shaw, 60-52
Brother Martin def. Holy Cross, 67-66
East St. John vs. Grace King, 1 p.m. (Brother Martin)
St. Martin’s vs. Rummel, 2 p.m. (Jesuit)
Jesuit vs. Fontainebleau, 5 p.m. (Jesuit)

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Quarterfinals, November 30
Hahnville def. East St. John, 77-66 (Glenn Grover, HHS: 26; Davis, ESJ: 18)
De La Salle def. Grace King, 73-56 (Jalen Henry, DLS: 21; B. Morrison, GK: 22)
Slidell def. Jesuit, 56-54 (Taylor Harris, SHS: 17; Elijah Morgan, JHS: 32)
St. Paul def. Fontainebleau, 53-39 (Parker Edwards, SP; Ethan Rodgers, FHS)

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Consolation Games, November 30
Brother Martin def. John Curtis, 79-65 (Tyler Lally, BM: 26; Dawson Crosby, JC: 28)
Holy Cross def. Shaw, 60-40 (Tyler Beaver, HC: 16; Snoden, AS: 12)
St. Thomas Aquinas def. St. Martin’s, 50-40 (Cal Bleakley, STAQ: 15; Brett Pfefferle, SM: 17)
Rummel def. St. Stanislaus, 38-31 (Dante Mitchell, ARHS: 20; Jeremiah Reynoso, SSHS: 10)

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Opening Round, November 29
Hahnville def. John Curtis, 66-54 (Andrew Stagni, JC: 20; Glenn Grover, HHS: 15)
East. St. John def. Brother Martin, 70-64 (Allen Williams, ESJ: 24; Tyler Lally, BM: 18)
De La Salle def. Shaw, 74-44 (Jalen Henry, DLS: 15; Forester, AS: 10)
Grace King def. Holy Cross, 60-58, OT (Brandon Morrison, GK: 29; T. Beaver, HC: 16)
Slidell def. St. Thomas Aquinas, 51-49 (Justin Thomas, STAQ: 26)
Jesuit def. St. Martin’s, 52-29 (Morgan & Landrieu, JHS: 10; Brett Pfferie, SM: 17)
St. Paul def. St. Stanislaus, 54-46 (Jeremiah Reynoso, SS: 17)
Fontainebleau def. Rummel, 55-48 (Camron Robinson & Ethan Rodgers, FHS: 15; Donte Mitchell, AR: 18)

The Allstate Sugar Bowl took on sponsorship of the New Orleans CYO High School Tournament, which is celebrating its 64th year of action this year, in 2008. De La Salle defeated John Curtis, 83-72, to capture the championship of the 2016 Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament. It was De La Salle’s first CYO Basketball Tourney title since 1988 when Jay Fazende, who went on to star at Fordham, led the Cavaliers to the title. It is the eighth title all-time for the Cavaliers in the 63-year history of the event.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 27 national champions, 88 Hall of Fame players, 47 Hall of Fame coaches and 17 Heisman Trophy winners in its 83-year history. The 84th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, will be played on January 1, 2018. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.3 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 90,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.