St. Paul's Takes Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Title park

The St. Paul's Wolves posted a 7-2 victory over C.E. Byrd High to capture the championship in the 11th annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic. The event, which was hosted by The Louisiana Chapter of US Lacrosse and featured high school teams from throughout the region, was held Saturday and Sunday at Chappapeela Sports Park in Hammond, La. (19325 Hipark Blvd).

St. Paul's was very impressive in the event, posting a 15-1 win over Central (Baton Rouge), a 7-2 decision over Captain Shreve (Shreveport) and a 4-3 triumph over UMS-Wright (Mobile, Ala.) to win its pool on Saturday. On Sunday, the Wolves topped Dutchtown (Geismar, La.), 5-3, and Catholic (Baton Rouge), 7-0, to set up the championship meeting with Byrd. Byrd had also swept through its pool, defeating Dutchtown, 6-1, Catholic (Baton Rouge), 4-2, and the Lafayette Hurricanes, 7-0, in Saturday action. On Sunday, the Yellow Jackets upended Captain Shreve, 4-2, and UMS-Wright, 4-3, to reach the championship match.

Full Results

St. Paul's also won the Junior Varsity A bracket and the U-14 A bracket. North Shore Lacrosse won the girls' tournament and the U-14 B Division. Jesuit High School of New Orleans earned the title in the Junior Varsity B Bracket. The younger division titles were split by Carrollton (U-12) and Christ Episcopal (U-10).

Championship Matches:
Varsity: St. Paul's def. C.E. Byrd, 7-2
JV-A: St. Paul's def. UMS-Wright, 4-2
JV-B: Jesuit def. Brother Martin, 7-3
U-14 A: St. Paul's def. Baton Rouge Mustangs, 6-3
U-14 B: North Shore def. Lafayette Hurricanes, 8-3
U-12: Carrollton def. Christ Episcopal, 6-4
U-10: Christ Episcopal def. Carrollton, 9-4
Girls' Varsity: North Shore def. C.E. Byrd, 4-3

Teams participating in the event (multiple teams from some schools) included:

Baton Rouge Mustangs
Brother Martin (New Orleans)
C.E. Byrd High (Shreveport)
Captain Shreve (Shreveport)
Carrollton Boosters
Catholic High (Baton Rouge)
Central High (Baton Rouge)
Christ Episcopal School (Covington)
Christian Brothers (New Orleans)
Dutchtown High (Geismar)
Isidore Newman School (New Orleans)
Jesuit (New Orleans)
Lafayette (La.) Hurricanes Lacrosse
North Shore Lacrosse
Ocean Springs (Miss.) High
St. Catherine (Metairie)
St. Paul's (Covington)
St. Thomas More (Lafayette)
UMS-Wright (Mobile, Ala.)

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 27 national champions, 92 Hall of Fame players, 48 Hall of Fame coaches and 17 Heisman Trophy winners in its 83-year history. The 84th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, will be played on January 1, 2018. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 25,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.