St. Augustine Wins Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Title

NEW ORLEANS (December 4, 2010) – After cruising through the first three rounds of the Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament, St. Augustine High School found itself in a barnburner in the Saturday evening Championship game at Jesuit High School. After winning its first three games by an average margin of 29 points, the Purple Knights still took care of business in a close battle, knocking down a pair of free throws with four seconds to go to edge Brother Martin, 66-64. It is St. Aug’s first title since 2007 in the event, which marked its 57th anniversary this year.

Craig Victor, a 6-7 freshman, led St. Augustine to the title and earned Most Valuable Player honors. He was joined on the all-tournament team by teammate Javan Felix as well as Casey Wade and Amani Thomas from Rummel and Denzil Fleming and Schane Rillieux from Brother Martin.

2010 Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Brackets

Saturday, Dec. 4 Allstate Sugar Bowl Results:
St. Augustine 66, Brother Martin, 64 (at Jesuit) – Championship Game
Northshore 78, St. Charles 71 (at Rummel)
Shaw 46, West Jefferson 45 (at De La Salle)
East St. John 69, Bonnabel 53 (at Rummel)
Holy Cross 38, Jesuit 31 (at De La Salle)
St. Thomas Aquinas 37, Ellender 32 (at Rummel)
Slidell 58, St. Paul’s 45 (at De La Salle)

Friday, Dec. 3 Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Semifinal Results:
St. Augustine 74, Karr 35 (at Jesuit)
Brother Martin 39, Rummel 37

Thursday, Dec. 2 Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Results:
Rummel 43, St. Thomas Aquinas 37 (Quarterfinals at Rummel)
Brother Martin 69, Ellender 46 (Quarterfinals at Brother Martin)
St. Augustine 68, Slidell 50 (Quarterfinals at St. Augustine)
Karr  52, St. Paul’s 48 (Quarterfinals at Jesuit)
East St. John 63, St. Charles 27 (at Rummel)
Bonnabel 84, Northshore 69 (at Brother Martin)
Holy Cross 53, West Jefferson 46 (at St. Augustine)
Jesuit 50, Shaw 47 (at Jesuit)

Wednesday, Dec. 1 Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Results:
St. Thomas Aquinas 68, East St. John 55 (at Rummel)
Rummel 52, St. Charles 29 (at Rummel)
Ellender 82, Northshore 72 (at Brother Martin)
Brother Martin 64, Bonnabel 57 (at Brother Martin)
Slidell 55, Holy Cross 47 (at St. Augustine)
St. Augustine 70, West Jefferson 40 (at St. Augustine)
St. Paul’s 42, Jesuit 40 (at Jesuit)
Karr 44, Shaw 34 (at Jesuit)

Last year’s tournament featured 16 boys’ high school teams playing in 25 games. Jesuit High School held off St. Augustine, 58-50, to win the championship with the Blue Jays’ Colby Kiefer earning the event’s Most Valuable Player honor. It was Jesuit’s first CYO Title since 2005.