Tennis 2018-11-12T18:11:54+00:00

Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis

The third annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Classic was held Saturday to Monday, November 10-12, 2019 at the City Park/Pepsi Tennis Center (5900 Marconi Dr.), considered to be the finest tennis facility in the state. Sugar Bowl junior tennis returned in 2016 after a hiatus of nearly two decades.

This year’s Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Classic is a national-level sanctioned tournament. Players from throughout the United States were able to apply to compete in this year’s tournament; however, only the top 32 nationally ranked applicants in each event qualified to compete.Thirty-four states and Puerto Rico were represented in the event.

The top local performer was Gavriella Smith, a New Orleans product who captured the girls’ 16-year old championship with a three-set victory over Violeta Martinez from Port St. Lucie, Fla., 7-6, 2-6, 6-3. Smith, who is a sophomore at Lusher High School, has won the last three Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA Division III Singles State Championships – her first came when she was only a seventh-grader.

Also showing the national scope of the tournament were the hometowns of the other champions – Seattle; Dallas; Key Biscayne, Fla.; Calhoun, Ga.; Saratoga, Calif.; and Charlestown, Ind.; as well as another in-state product – Benjamin Koch from Abbeville, who captured the boys’ 18 championship with a 6-1, 7-5 win over Kenner Taylor from Houston.

My-Anh Holmes, another New Orleans product, teamed up with Maren Urata (La Canada, Calif.) to earn the girl’s 12-year old title in doubles.

The tournament will feature 16 different events for boys and girls ages 12-18. The events are: B12 Singles / Doubles, B14 Singles / Doubles, B16 Singles / Doubles, B18 Singles / Doubles, G12 Singles / Doubles, G14 Singles / Doubles, G16 Singles / Doubles, G18 Singles / Doubles.

The first two years of the Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Classic’s return it was a USTA Southern Tournament, which was only open to nine states that are in the Southern Region.   In its first year as a national tournament, the Allstate Sugar Bowl Tennis Classic had nearly 800 applicants for the 300 available positions.

The Sugar Bowl sponsored a junior tennis tournament from 1948-1993. It evolved into a collegiate and international tourney from 1994 to 2001.

LHSAA Class 5A Region III Tennis Tournament

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has also sponsored the Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 5A Region IV Tennis Tournament for the past 10 years at the City Park/Pepsi Tennis Center. The event crowns the top boys’ and girls’ tennis teams and individuals from the Bayou region of Louisiana and the South-shore Metro New Orleans area. Each quarterfinalist in singles and doubles qualifies for the LHSAA State Championships.

Brother Martin upended Jesuit to snap a nine-year run of championships by the Blue Jays, while Mount Carmel’s victory over Dominican snapped a streak of five straight titles. Both Brother Martin and Mount Carmel were second last year – in fact, the Cubs had finished second for the last five years.

The top singles story was in girls’ action as Mount Carmel’s Taylor Garcia successfully captured her fourth straight regional title. Garcia, who will play tennis at Washington & Lee University in the fall, defeated teammate Julia Kapusta in the finals, 6-0, 6-0.

In boys’ singles action, Jesuit’s Jojo Sandoz upended defending champion Ethan Bosch from Brother Martin, 6-0, 6-4.

Brother Martin’s Ben Chanes and Matthew Armbruster teamed up to win the boys’ doubles championship with a 6-2, 6-4 triumph over fellow Crusaders Hunter Kael and Jack Robinson. On the girls’ side, the Mount Carmel tandem of Caroline Arnold and Nikki Bountovinas posted a 6-3, 6-1 championship victory over Kacey Pappas and Katey Brennan, also from Mount Carmel.

World Junior Tennis Classic

The Sugar Bowl’s World Junior Tennis Classic was held from 1994 to 2001. The event showcased the top American and international junior tennis players. The Classic was an International Tennis Federation sanctioned event. The eight-day event was played in the beginning of September and held indoors at the Hilton New Orleans Riverside’s Rivercenter Racquet and Health Club courts.

2000 Results
Boys’ Singles: No. 1 Andy Roddick (Boca Raton, Fla.) def. No. 3 Roman Valent (Switzerland), 6-4, 6-3.
Girls’ Singles: No. 1 Tatiana Perebiynis (Ukraine) def. No. 12 Jelena Jankovic (Yugoslavia), 26-, 6-3, 7-5.
Girls’ Doubles: No. 1 Christina Wheeler & Samantha Stosur (Australia) def. Unseeded So Hseih (Taipei) & Shuai Peng (China), 6-0, 4-6, 6-4.
Boys’ Doubles: No. 2 Bruno Echagaray & Santiago Gonzalez (Mexico) def. No. 4 Jacobo Hernandez (Mexico) & Amaud Segodo (Benin), 6-4, 7-6 (4).

1999 Results
Boys’ Singles: No. 14 Peter John Nomdo (South Africa) def. Andy Roddick (Boca Raton, Fla.), 6-3, 7-6 (5).
Girls’ Singles: No. 2 Lenka Dlhopolcova (Slovakia) def. No. 4 Melissa Sowse (Australia), 6-0, 6-3.
Boys’ Doubles: Unseeded Andrew Banks & ben Riby (Great Britain) def. No. 1 Todor Enev (Bulgaria) & Daniel Lange (Mexico), 6-4, 6-3.
Girls’ Doubles: No. 4 Christina Wheeler (Australia) & Natalie Grandin (South Africa) def. No. 1 Dlhopolcova & Lubomira Kurhajcova (Slovenia), 6-0, 6-3.

1998 Results
Boys’ Singles: Unseeded Joachim Johansson (Sweden) def. No. 6 Alexei Kedriouk (Kazakhstan), 7-6(5), 6-2.
Girls’ Singles: No. 6 Iroda Tulyaganova (Uzbekistan) def. No. 10 Monika Horvath (Hungary), 6-1, 6-0.
Girls’ Doubles: No. 1 Leanne Baker (New Zealand) & Erica Krauth (Argentina) def. Iroda Tulyaganova (Uzbekistan) & Zuzana Kucova (Slovak Republic), 3-6, 6-2, 6-0.
Boys’ Doubles: Philip Gubenco & Charles Sevigny (Canada) def. Ryan Haviland & John Gray (United States), 6-7(6), 7-6(3), 6-3.

1997 Results
Boys’ Singles: No. 1 Wei-Jen Cheng (Taipei) def. No. 2 Valentin Sanon (Ivory Coast), 6-3, 6-2.
Girls’ Singles: No. 8 Hannah Collin (Great Britain) def. No. 3 Stainislava Hrozenska (Slovakia): 1-0, ret.
Girls’ Doubles: No. 1 Paola Palencia (Mexico) & Alicia Pillay (South Africa) def. unseeded Masa Vesenjak & Urska Vesenjak (Slovenia), 6-1, 6-4.
Boys’ Doubles: No. 1 David Sherwood (Great Britain) & Jaco Vander Westhuizen (South Africa) def. Victor Romero & Rodrigo Echagaray (Mexico), 3-6, 6-2, 6-2.

1996 Results
Boys’ Singles Champion: No. 1 Damien Roberts (South Africa).
Girls’ Singles Champion: No. 1 Surina DeBeer (South Africa).
Boys’ Doubles Champions: Damien Roberts & Wesley Whitehouse (South Africa).
Girls’ Doubles: Catalina Castano (Columbia) & Ira Selyutin (Kazakhyzstan) def. Surina DeBeer & Monique Leseuer (South Africa).

1995 Results
Boys’ Singles: Nick Cromwell def. Geoff Abrams (Tampa, Fla.), 4-6, 6-3, 6-4.
Girls’ Singles: Kristina Triska (Sweden) def. No. 3 Mirjana Lucic (Croatia), 6-4, 6-2.
Girls’ Doubles: Ana Elizabeth Jimenez & Paola Palencia (Mexico) def. Tracy Singian (Lake Forest, Fla.) & Brenda Vlasak (Westminster, Colo.), 5-7, 6-3, 6-3.
Boys’ Doubles: Ryan Wolters (Fullerton, Calif.) & Kevin Kim (California) def. Doug Root (Mendham, N.J.) & Ramsey Smith (Hilton Head, S.C.), 6-4, 1-6, 6-1.

1994 Results
Boys’ Singles: No. 7 Louis Vosloo (South Africa) def. No. 8 Marc Urbainczyk (Miami, Fla.), 6-4, 7-6(3).
Girls’ Singles: No. 1 Jessica Steck (South Africa) def. Holly Parkinson (Tampa, Fla.), 7-5, 6-3.
Girls’ Doubles: No. 1 Jessica Steck (South Africa) & Samantha Reeves (Monona, Wis.) def. No. 4 Julie Ditty (Ashland, Kent.) & Tammy Encina (Miami Beach, Fla.), 6-2, 7-6(2).
Boys’ Doubles: No. 4 Brandon Kramer (Reno, Nev.) & Misha Palecek (Atherton, Calif.) def. No. 1 Ricardo Rosas & Fernando Sierra (Mexico), 6-4, 6-4

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo