South Carolina's Stephen Garcia, Hawaii's Bryant Moniz Featured Manning Watch List Additions


South Carolina's Stephen Garcia, Hawaii's Bryant Moniz Featured Manning Watch List Additions park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced 10 additions to its 2010 Watch List on Oct. 25. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a banquet in New Orleans.

After announcing 33 quarterbacks to watch during the preseason, the Manning Award opted to increase its focus players based on the many outstanding performances during the first half of the year, however, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible to win the honor.

Click here to see the preseason Watch List

For the remainder of the season, the Manning Award will profile the 10 Watch List additions.
Mike Hartline, Kentucky
Taylor Martinez, Nebraska

South Carolina's Stephen Garcia and Hawai‘i's Bryant Moniz will be the focus this week.

Stephen Garcia Bio

Garcia and the 19th-ranked Gamecocks will welcome No. 18 Arkansas to Williams-Brice Stadium on Saturday, Nov. 6, at 7 p.m. for a game to be televised by ESPN. Both teams are 6-2 while South Carolina has a slight edge in the SEC at 4-2; Arkansas is 3-2 in the league.

Garcia has completed 137-of-194 passes (70.6%) for 1,904 yards through eight games. He is on pace to have the top single-season completion percentage in SC history, topping Steve Taneyhill's 67.1% in 1995. He is also just 54 yards away from moving into the all-time top five at Carolina in passing yards, equaling Phil Petty's 5,652 yards.

Garcia  posted back-to-back 300-yard passing games with a career-high 382 at Kentucky and another 355 at Vanderbilt, where he tied a career-best with 31 completions on 39 attempts. He had what Coach Steve Spurrier called "the best game of his career" in a 35-21 upset of No. 1-ranked Alabama, completing 17-of-20 passes (85%) for 201 yards and three touchdowns. He started the day 9-for-9 for 94 yards in the first half.

Garcia has played in 29 games for the Gamecocks, starting 24 over three seasons (14-10 as a starter). He is 12-2 when starting at home. The 6-2 junior from Lutz, Fla., is second in the SEC and ranks fifth in the nation in passing efficiency with a rating of 167.96.

Bryant Moniz Bio

The 7-2 Hawai‘i Warriors, 5-0 in the WAC, will travel to Bronco Stadium to face undefeated, 3rd-ranked Boise State in a WAC conference showdown at 2:30 p.m. on ESPNU.

Moniz, a former walk-on, leads the nation in both passing yards (360.8) and total offense (373.4) and has completed 65.7 percent of his passes with 25 touchdowns and just seven interceptions. With 3,247 passing yards, Moniz is the fifth quarterback in school history to surpass 3,000 passing yards in a season.

Last season after becoming the team's starter just four games into the season, Moniz finished with 2,396 yards passing and 14 touchdowns while completing 57.1 percent of his passes. He has passed for 300-yards or more nine times in his career, including a career-high 532 yards in a win over Louisiana Tech this season.

Moniz began his collegiate career at Fresno City College in 2007 before transferring to UH and sitting out the 2008 season. He earned a scholarship during the off-season. The six-foot signal caller is a Wahiawa, O`ahu, native.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its seventh winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. Last year's winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history. McCoy was picked by the Cleveland Browns in the 2010 NFL Draft.