Sixth Annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic Scheduled for Jan. 28-29


Sixth Annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic Scheduled for Jan. 28-29 park

NEW ORLEANS – The sixth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic will be held at Lafreniere Park on Saturday and Sunday, Jan. 28 and 29. A regional event, the classic will feature 39 teams at five boys' levels: varsity, junior varsity, U15, U13 and U11. Eighty-three games will be played over the two-day event. Admission to the lacrosse classic is free. For directions to the event, please visit the official website for Lafreniere Park.

Tournament action begins on Saturday morning at 8 a.m. and will continue to 5 p.m. Sunday's action will also begin at 8 a.m. with the Varsity Championship tentatively scheduled for 2 p.m.

Click here for the full schedules for Varsity, Junior Varsity, U15, U13 and U11. (updated 1/24)

Here is the Varsity schedule for Saturday (updated 1/24):
8 a.m.: Brother Martin vs. Klein (Field 1)
8 a.m.: Rummel vs. Northshore (Field 2)
9 a.m.: Jesuit vs. Spanish Park (Field 1)
9 a.m.: Dutchtown vs. St. Paul's (Field 2)
10 a.m.: Klein vs. St. Thomas More (Field 1)

11 a.m.: Mandeville vs. Spain Park (Field 1)
11 a.m.: Rummel vs. Brother Martin (Field 2)\
12 p.m. St. Paul's vs. Jesuit (Field 1)
12 p.m.: Northshore vs. Klein (Field 2)
1 p.m.: Brother Martin vs. St. Thomas More (Field 1)

2 p.m.: Spain Park vs. Dutchtown (Field 1)
2 p.m.: Mandeville vs. Jesuit (Field 2)
3 p.m.: St. Thomas More vs. Rummel (Field 1)
4 p.m.: St. Paul's vs. Mandeville (Field 1)

The inaugural Allstate Sugar Bowl lacrosse event in 2007 had eight teams participating. Since that time, the Classic has grown to its current capacity. Recognized as one of the fastest growing team sports in the United States, lacrosse has seen youth participation grow over 500 percent since 1999 to nearly 250,000. No sport has grown faster at the high school level over the last 10 years and there are now an estimated 200,000 high school players. The high-speed game is also a fan favorite, drawing crowds of as many as 50,000 for NCAA Final Four games.

The dominant team in the Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic's brief history has been Klein High School from Houston, which captured the first four titles. However, in the 2011 event, St. Thomas More, from Lafayette, La., broke the Klein stranglehold with a 9-3 victory over Jesuit of New Orleans in the championship – a rematch of the 2010 Louisiana High School Lacrosse Championship match. The Blue Jays, from Jesuit, had earlier foiled Klein's quest for a fifth straight title with a 4-3 victory in the quarterfinals.

New Orleans-area schools scheduled to participate in this year's event include Archbishop Rummel High School, Brother Martin High School, Jesuit High School, Mandeville High School, Northshore High School and St. Paul's High School.

For more information about the Allstate Sugar Bowl and its many community events, please log on to its website