Six Sugar Bowl Alums To Be Honored as SEC Legends


Six Sugar Bowl Alums To Be Honored as SEC Legends park

The Southeastern Conference 2014 Football Legends Class includes 14 former SEC stars, including six who played in the Sugar Bowl. The conference announced its lineup of 2014 SEC Football Legends on Thursday.

The class will be honored at the 2014 SEC Football "Weekend of Champions" Dec. 5-6 in Atlanta, Ga. The annual SEC Legends Dinner presented by AT&T will be held Dec. 5 at the Hyatt Regency in Atlanta and the group will also be recognized prior to the SEC Football Championship Game, which will be held at the Georgia Dome on Sat., Dec. 6.

2014 SEC Football Legends in the Sugar Bowl:
Stan Hundman (Ole Miss, Guard, 1963-65) – 1964 Sugar Bowl
Todd Kelly (Tennessee, Defensive End, 1989-92) – 1991 Sugar Bowl
Jerry Lamb (Arkansas, End, 1962-64) – 1963 Sugar Bowl
Doug Moreau (LSU, Split End/Kicker, 1963-65) – 1965 Sugar Bowl
Lito Sheppard (Florida, Cornerback, 1999-2001) – 2001 Sugar Bowl
Carnell Williams (Auburn, Running Back, 2001-04) – 2005 Sugar Bowl

Other 2014 SEC Football Legends:
Derek Abney (Kentucky, Wide Receiver/Kick Returner, 2000-03)
Sheldon Brown (South Carolina, Cornerback, 1998-2001)
Jonathan Goff (Vanderbilt, Linebacker, 2004-07)
Jacob Green (Texas A&M, Defensive Line, 1977-79)
Bobby Humphrey (Alabama, Running Back, 1985-88)
John Little (Georgia, Roverback, 1983-86)
Fred Smoot (Mississippi State, Cornerback, 1999-2000)
Kellen Winslow (Missouri, Tight End, 1976-78)

The SEC Legends included some memorable performances in the Sugar Bowl as well. Doug Moreau was likely the most impressive as he collected the Miller-Digby Award as the game's MVP after leading LSU to a 13-10 victory over Floyd Little's Syracuse squad on Jan. 1, 1965. With the Tigers trailing 10-2 in the second half, Moreau hauled in a 57-yard pass from Billy Ezell in the third quarter to knot the game, then booted a 28-yard field goal to win it with 3:55 to go.

Arkansas's Jerry Lamb had three catches for 107 yards in the Razorbacks' loss to Ole Miss on Jan. 1, 1963; Carnell Williams collected 61 rushing yards in Auburn's 16-13 victory over Virginia Tech to cap the Tigers' perfect season on Jan. 3, 2005; and Lito Sheppard tallied seven tackles, including two for loss, as well as an interception in the Gators' loss to Miami on Jan. 2, 2001.