Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Television Info, 2013
NEW ORLEANS - The Allstate Sugar Bowl's Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame banquet, which was held on Saturday, Aug. 10 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, will be televised three times in the coming weeks on WHNO-TV Channel 20.

WHNO-TV can be found on most local cable networks in the New Orleans area - it is not available on Direct TV. It can be found at Ch. 20 on Cox in Orleans and the surrounding parishes as well as on CMA Cablevision, AT&T U-Verse and Dish TV. It is Channel 14 on Charter Cable in St. Tammany and Tangipahoa parishes. Be sure to check local listings to confirm availability.

Air Dates:
Friday, Aug. 23: 5-6:30p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 29: 5-6:30 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 30: 5-6:30 p.m.
Saturday, Aug 31:  11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (new time)

Honorees in Attendance:
Morten Andersen, Hall of Fame Inductee
Rodney Holman, Hall of Fame Inductee
Tony Reginelli, Hall of Fame Inductee
Aaron Nola, Corbett Award Winner
Ron Gearing, Eddie Robinson Award Winner
Sally Ann Roberts, Special Award Honoree
Patrick Mullins, New Orleans Amateur Athlete of the Year
Jay Roth, Outstanding Prep Coach for Louisiana
Roman Banks, Outstanding College Coach for Louisiana
Hobie Hotard, May Athlete of the Month
Charles Noble, April Athlete of the Month
Connor Campo, February Athlete of the Month
Shaquille Preston, January Athlete of the Month
Malachi Dupree, December Athlete of the Month
Jabiari Tyler, September Athlete of the Month
Emerson Gibbs, August Athlete of the Month

Sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame was created in 1971 and honors athletes who were born in New Orleans and achieved prominence in or away from the Greater New Orleans area; or, those non-natives who achieved sports prominence in the Greater New Orleans area in high school, college, professional or amateur sports. Plaques honoring the 211 members (through 2013) of the Hall of Fame are displayed at Gate G on the Club Level of the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

Each year's Hall of Fame class is selected by the Greater New Orleans Awards Selection Committee, a volunteer group which has met monthly to pay homage to outstanding achievements in athletics in the Greater New Orleans area for over five decades. In addition to the Hall of Fame, the committee recognizes an Amateur Athlete of the Month for the Greater New Orleans area and selects yearly winners for a variety of major awards, including the Eddie Robinson Award. The group also selects the Corbett Awards, presented annually to the most outstanding male and female collegiate athletes in the State of Louisiana. The Corbett Award was created in 1967 and named in honor of the late James J. Corbett to commemorate his many contributions to intercollegiate athletics and specifically to the Sugar Bowl.

The Committee began in 1958 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 12 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. To be eligible for the Hall of Fame, nominees must have excelled in the sports field in New Orleans or been born or raised in the city. Each year, the Committee evaluates nominees and selects the inductees.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo