Dr. James FrankContributor, 1956-98

Inducted: 1998

  • Assistant basketball and baseball coach at Lincoln University in Jefferson City, Mo., and later served as the school's president from 1973-83.
  • President of the NCAA from 1981-83 and secretary-treasurer in 1979, becoming the first African-American and the first college president to hold either position.
  • Commissioner of the Southwestern Athletic Conference from 1983-98.
  • Winner of the NCAA's James J. Corbett Award in 1997 and inducted into the National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame and the Lincoln University Hall of Fame.
  • Received the Distinguished American Award given by the Allstate Sugar Bowl Chapter of the National Football Foundation in 1988and then collected the national award as Distinguished American presented by the NFF in 2001.
  • In 2007, presented with the NCAA's Gerald R. Ford Award which honors individuals who have provided significant leadership as an advocate for higher education and intercollegiate athletics on a continuous basis over the course of his or her career.
Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo