2009 Manning Award Watch List Additions

NEW ORLEANS (Oct. 22, 2009) - The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced 10 additions to its 2009 Watch List on Thursday. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a February banquet in New Orleans.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

After announcing 38 quarterbacks to watch during the preseason, the Manning Award opted to increase its focus players based on the many outstanding performances during the first half of the year. While these players have been added to the Watch List, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible to win the honor.

"There have been many young quarterbacks as well as some veterans who have really stepped up this year," said Archie Manning. "We have decided to add 10 players who have really stood out, both individually and through team success. But I want to stress that every quarterback in the country remains eligible to win the Manning Award. We still have half of the season to go and we all know that the second half is where most stars truly make their mark."

Ten finalists will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings. That list will be released on Monday, Nov. 30. The winner will be announced on Thursday, Jan. 14.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last season's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who is making his bid to become the first two-time winner of the honor this year.

2009 Manning Award Watch List Midseason AdditionsBlaine Gabbert (So., Missouri)
Jacory Harris (So., Miami)
G.J. Kinne (So., Tulsa)
Ryan Mallett (So., Arkansas)
Greg McElroy (Jr., Alabama)
Aaron Opelt (Sr., Toledo)
Christian Ponder (Jr., Florida St.)
Bill Stull (Sr., Pittsburgh)
Tyrod Taylor (Jr., Virginia Tech)
Chris Todd (Sr., Auburn)





Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo