Seimone AugustusLSU Women's Basketball - 2005 & 2006 Corbett Award Winner
Among the outstanding individuals to earn the prestigious Corbett Award, honoring the outstanding male and female college athletes in the state of Louisiana for the past 40+ years, Seimone Augustus is the first four-time winner of the award.

In redefining women's basketball at LSU, Augustus was the two-time Consensus National Player of the Year, attendance at women's basketball games increased by 700 percent, and LSU appeared in three straight NCAA Women's Final Fours.

In her four seasons, Augustus scored 2,702 points, the second all-time leading scorer in LSU history, while also pulling down 728 rebounds (5.2 avg/gm). . She had 72 games in which she scored 20 points or more and scored double figures in a school-record 97 straight games. She scored in double figures in 132 of her 140 games, the most in NCAA history.

During the 2005-06 season, Augustus capped her brilliant career by leading the nation in scoring, averaging a career-best 22.7 points per game, leading the Lady Tigers to a third straight Final Four. In doing so, she earned All-America honors for the fourth time (including becoming LSU's only three-time Kodak recipient) and earned National Player of the Year honors for a second consecutive season. In addition, she received the Wade Trophy, the Naismith Award, the John R. Wooden Award, the Honda Award, the Senior C.L.A.S.S. Award, as well as the Player of the Year Award by the Associated Press.

In 2004-05, Seimone was named the Associated Press Player of the Year, the Naismith Player of the Year, the USBWA Player of the Year, the Honda Broderick Player of the Year, a Kodak All-America for the second year in a row, an AP All-America Third Team member for the third year in a row, and All-SEC First Team player and the SEC Player of the Year.

Those exploits led her to become the first overall pick in the 2006 WNBA Draft by the Minnesota Lynx. In her inaugural season, she averaged nearly 22 points and four rebounds a game, earning All-Star, All-League, and Rookie of The Year Honors.

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo