Upcoming Allstate Sugar Bowl Events

JAN 3-4 2014
National Prep Basketball Classic

The fourth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic basketball tournaments for boys and girls will be held Jan. 2-4 at the Alario Center in Westwego. Boys’ teams slated to compete are: Riverside Academy, University High, Karr, Higgins, Landry-Walker, St. Thomas More, Parkview Baptist, Salmen, Northside, Country Day. John Curtis, Bonabel, Bishop Verot (Fla.) and Victory Prep (Texas).

Team previews for all participants will be posted leading up to the event.

In last year’s tourney, Charvon Julien scored 22 points and handed out five assists as Riverside Academy, of Reserve, La., upset Sheldon High School from Sacramento, Calif., 72-65, to win the boys’ title. Julien earned tournament Most Valuable Player honors. In the first girls’ tournament at the National Prep Classic, Warren Easton High school, from New Orleans, won the championship with a 42-39 defeat of Salmen High, from Slidell, La. Lawriell Wilson scored 17 points and was named the girls’ Most Valuable Player.

National Prep Classic Record Book
  (through 2013 tourney)
National Prep Classic All-Time Results

2013: Riverside Academy Becomes First Louisiana School to Win National Prep Classic
2012: Oklahoma City’s Douglass Wins Second National Prep Classic
2011: Kimball Knights Claim Title at Inaugural National Prep Classic


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo