Back to Articles

Manning Match-Up Week Five - October 3

Thursday, October 1, 2009



NEW ORLEANS (October 1, 2009) - Five games this week feature Manning Award Watch Listers facing each other, but the selection for this week's Manning Match-Up is North Carolina State (3-1) playing at Wake Forest (2-2) (2:30 p.m. CT, ESPN-U). N.C. State features sophomore quarterback Russell Wilson, while Wake Forest counters with senior Riley Skinner and will be looking to rebound from last week's 27-24 heartbreaking overtime loss at Boston College. The Deacons are 0-1 in conference play, while the Wolfpack have yet to play an ACC contest. The Deacons have won three of the past four meetings.

This weekend's game features the ACC top-rated offense against the league's top-rated defense. Wake Forest leads the ACC in total offense with 412.2 yards per game. N.C. State leads the ACC in total defense, allowing just 201.2 yards per game. The game also features the league's top two offenses, as N.C. State is second in total offense. Wake and State are the only two ACC teams ranked in the top five of the league in both rushing offense and passing offense.

For the Wolfpack, Wilson has completed 74-of-115 passes for 969 yards with 12 touchdowns and no interceptions on the season. He has thrown four touchdowns in each of his last three outings, including an impressive comeback victory against Pitt last weekend.

Skinner has completed 77-of-112 passes for 973 yards with eight touchdowns and five interceptions, three in the 24-21 season-opening loss to Baylor. Last week, Skinner, who is Wake's all-time leader in victories, threw two touchdowns in the last four minutes of the game against Boston College to send it into overtime.

Other Week Five Manning Match-UpsArkansas State (Corey Leonard) at Iowa (Ricky Stanzi), 11:05 CT
Penn State (Daryll Clark) at Illinois (Juice Williams), 2:30 p.m. CT, ABC
Washington (Jake Locker) at Notre Dame (Jimmy Clausen), 2:30 p.m. CT, NBC
Houston (Case Keenum) at UTEP (Trevor Vittatoe), 8:05 p.m. CT

Manning Award Stars of the WeekFrom the players selected to the preseason Watch List for the Manning Award, here are some of the standouts stars from week four:

Case Keenum, Houston
38-of-58, 445 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT, in thrilling roller-coaster ride victory over Texas Tech.

Jeremiah Masoli, Oregon
21-of-25, 253 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, as Ducks crush No. 6 Cal at home.

Tony Pike, Cincinnati
18-of-26, 300 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, in solid non-conference victory over Fresno State.

Todd Reesing, Kansas
30-of-41, 331 yards, 3 TD, 1 INT, as Jayhawks remain undefeated by holding off Southern Miss.

Russell Wilson, N.C. State
21-of-35, 322 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, in exciting comeback victory over non-conference foe Pittsburgh.

Manning Award Players to WatchThe Manning Award Watch List will be revised in mid-October. Here's a look at fourth-week numbers from quarterbacks making a bid to join the Watch List:

B.J. Daniels, USF
8-of-21, 215 yards, 2 TDs, 2 INT, while rushing for 126 yards in first career start - an upset of No. 18 Florida State.

Greg McElroy, Alabama
17-of-24, 291 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, as Crimson Tide rolls over Arkansas.

Chris Todd, Auburn
19-of-26, 287 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, as Gene Chizik's squad continues to impress, improving to 4-0, with Ball State win.

Scott Tolzien, Wisconsin
19-of-31, 214 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, to lead Wisconsin to 38-20 win over Michigan State and 4-0 record.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

Manning Award Watch List Photo Gallery

While the preseason Watch List includes just 38 quarterbacks, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible for the honor. Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. Ten finalists will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings. That list will be released on Monday, Nov. 30. The winner will be announced on Thursday, Jan. 14.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last year's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who will bid to become the first repeat winner this season.



Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo