Back to Articles

Allstate Sugar Bowl to Sponsor CYO High School Basketball Tournament Again in 2013

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

For the sixth straight year, the Allstate Sugar Bowl will sponsor the Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament. The 2013 event will run from Wednesday, Dec. 4 through Saturday, Dec. 7 and will be played at four local high schools. The semifinals will be played at Jesuit High School on Friday evening at 6 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. The finals will take place on Saturday at 7:30 p.m. at Brother Martin. This year marks the 60th year of the tournament.

2013 Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Bracket

Schools scheduled to participate are Brother Martin, Country Day, De La Salle, East Jefferson, East St. John, Hahnville, Hannan, Holy Cross, Jesuit, Lusher, Newman, Rummel, St. Augustine, St. Paul's, St. Thomas Aquinas and Shaw.

Wednesday, Dec. 4 Opening Round Match-Ups
De La Salle vs. Newman, 6 p.m. (at Brother Martin)
Shaw vs. Brother Martin, 7:30 p.m. (at Brother Martin)
Hahnville vs. Rummel, 6 p.m. (at Hannan)
St. Paul's vs. Hannan, 7:30 p.m. (at Hannan)
East Jefferson vs. St. Thomas Aquinas, 6 p.m. (at Jesuit)
Lusher vs. Jesuit, 7:30 p.m. (at Jesuit)
East St. John vs. St. Augustine, 6 p.m. (at Holy Cross)
Country Day vs. Holy Cross, 7:30 p.m. (ay Holy Cross)

Last year's CYO Tourney was capped by a thrilling finish as Newman's Kyle Lewis scored on a putback as time expired in overtime to lift the Greenies to a 58-57 victory over Jesuit in the championship game. It was the first CYO Tourney title for Newman. Trailing by one with five seconds to go, Kendall Lewis was off the mark with an 18-foot jumper, but twin brother Kyle gathered the rebound and rattled home the game-winner to shock the Blue Jays. Duke Douglas had 16 points and 11 boards for Newman to cap an outstanding weekend and earn tournament MVP honors. Joining Douglas on the all-tournament team were Matt Felger (Jesuit), Edwin Winston (East St. John), Greg White-Pittman (Holy Cross), Jordan Cornish (Brother Martin) and Kyle Lewis (Newman).


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo