Back to Articles

Oregon State's Sean Mannion Earns Fourth Manning Award Player of the Week Honor

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Sean Mannion, a junior from Oregon State, has been selected as Manning Award Player of the Week for the fourth time this season. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest.  

Mannion, a Pleasanton, Calif. native, registered very impressive numbers this past weekend completing 35-of-45 passes for 481 yards with four touchdowns and no interceptions in a 49-17 Pac-12 road victory over California. This marks his fifth 400-yard game of the year while extending his national lead in touchdown passes.  

Mannion now has 8,766 passing yards in his career, surpassing Danny O'Neil (Oregon), Bill Musgrave (Oregon), Rob Johnson (USC) and Drew Olson (UCLA) to become 19th all-time in Pac- 2 history in that category. His 2,992 passing yards this season already has him at eighth most in school history.

Mannion's 29 touchdown passes through seven games tied Derek Anderson (2004) for the most in a single season at Oregon State. His 4,893 votes on Facebook this week passed his own record of 4,809 last week.  

Mannion's top competitor in this week's competition was Fresno State's Derek Carr with 4,031 votes. Carr completed 33-of-48 passes for 412 yards with four touchdowns and no interceptions. He registered his 15th career 300-yard effort, while also setting the school record for career TD passes (86) in a 38-14 win over UNLV. 

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting. 

Visit the Manning Award page here.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks - Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season's winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo