Back to Articles

Fresno State's Derek Carr Earns Manning Award Player of the Week Honor

Friday, September 6, 2013

Derek Carr, a senior from Fresno State University, has been selected as this season's first Manning Award Player of the Week. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest.

Carr, a Bakersfield, Calif. native, passed for 456 yards with 52-of-73 completions for five touchdowns and one interception. The season started off wild for the Bulldogs in a 52-51 overtime victory against Rutgers. Carr tallied the 10th 300-yard game of his career, breaking the Mountain West record for completions and tossing a 25-yard TD to clinch the win.

Carr was also named the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Week, the Phillips 66 MW Athlete of the Week by CBS Sports Network and has been selected as one of 30 candidates for the 2013 Senior Class Award in collegiate football. 

Carr tallied 1,043 votes on Facebook, just 73 shy of doubling the second place winner. His top competitors in voting this week were Connor Wood of Colorado and Vernon Adams of Eastern Washington. Wood, who completed 33-of-46 passes for 400 yards and three touchdowns, led the Buffaloes to a 41-27 win over Colorado State, capping the day with a 75-yard TD connection - after opening the game with an 82-yard scoring strike. Adams completed 23-of-30 passes for 411 yards with four touchdowns and also rushed for two touchdowns as the Eagles shock Oregon State, 49-46, becoming just the third FCS school to defeat a ranked FBS program.

Check out the final fan voting numbers on Facebook here. 

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Visit the Manning Award page here.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks - Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season's winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo