Back to Articles

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Inducts Three New Members

Monday, August 12, 2013

The Allstate Sugar Bowl's Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame inducted three new members at its Saturday evening banquet at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. Morten Andersen, one of the top placekickers in the history of the National Football League and a longtime star with the New Orleans Saints; Rodney Holman, a star at Tulane and a longtime NFL standout; and Tony Reginelli, the legendary football coach from Isidore Newman High School, all joined the select membership, which now totals 211.

Television Re-Broadcast Information

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame
James J. Corbett Memorial Award

July 26 - Amateur Athletes of the Month To be Recognized
July 29 - Top Coaches To Be Honored at Hall of Fame Banquet
July 30 - Outstanding Jockeys Will Be Recognized At Hall of Fame Ceremonies
July 31 - Mullins and Broussard Named Top Amateurs for New Orleans
Aug. 1 - John Curtis Selected as Louisiana Team of the Year
Aug. 2 - Orleans Parish AD Ron Gearing To Collect Robinson Award
Aug. 5 - Morten Andersen To Be Inducted Into Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame
Aug. 6 - Rodney Holman To Be Inducted Into NOLA Sports Hall of Fame
Aug. 7 - Tony Reginelli To Join NOLA Sports Hall of Fame
Aug. 8 - LSU's Aaron Nola Selected for Male Corbett Award
Aug. 9 - LSU Sprint Star Kimberlyn Duncan Earns Second Corbett Award

Sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame was created in 1971 and honors athletes who were born in New Orleans and achieved prominence in or away from the Greater New Orleans area; or, those non-natives who achieved sports prominence in the Greater New Orleans area in high school, college, professional or amateur sports. Plaques honoring the 211 members (through 2013) of the Hall of Fame are displayed at Gate G on the Club Level of the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

Each year's Hall of Fame class is selected by the Greater New Orleans Awards Selection Committee, a volunteer group which has met monthly to pay homage to outstanding achievements in athletics in the Greater New Orleans area for over five decades. In addition to the Hall of Fame, the committee recognizes an Amateur Athlete of the Month for the Greater New Orleans area and selects yearly winners for a variety of major awards, including the Eddie Robinson Award. The group also selects the Corbett Awards, presented annually to the most outstanding male and female collegiate athletes in the State of Louisiana. The Corbett Award was created in 1967 and named in honor of the late James J. Corbett to commemorate his many contributions to intercollegiate athletics and specifically to the Sugar Bowl.

The Committee began in 1958 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 12 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. To be eligible for the Hall of Fame, nominees must have excelled in the sports field in New Orleans or been born or raised in the city. Each year, the Committee evaluates nominees and selects the inductees.

Andersen, a native of Denmark, finished his career as the Saints' and NFL's all-time leader with 1,318 and 2,544 points, respectively. The seven-time Pro Bowl player is a member of the NFL's "All-Decade'' team for the 1980s and 1990s. In addition to the scoring record, Andersen set Saints franchise records with 302 field goals, 412 PATs and 196 games played. He made 77.6 percent of his field-goal attempts (302 of 389). He scored 100-plus points nine times with the Saints, including 121 in 1987 when they went to the playoffs for the first time in club history. Forhis full career, he holds NFL records in field goals made (565), attempts (709), points (2,544) and games played (382). Also ranks second in extra points made (849) and attempts (859) and set a league mark for consecutive games scoring (360).

Holman was part of a potent Green Wave attack, joining quarterback Roch Hontas, placekicker Eddie Murray and receiver Robert Griffin to produce a 26-20 record and a pair of bowl appearances (1979 Liberty, 1980 Hall of Fame) during his four-year stay. It is the only time in program history that Tulane made back-to-back bowl appearances. A noted blocker and receiver, he tallied 365 catches for 4,771 yards and 36 touchdowns in his 14-year NFL career. His 318 receptions as the Bengals' tight end are an organization record for the position. His 216 games played are second most by an NFL tight end. While his statistics were impressive, Holman is always quick to list his teammates when remembering his career. He easily lists many of the best players he came across in his time - names like Boomer Esiason, Ickey Woods, Anthony Munoz and Barry Sanders.

After playing football and baseball at Tulane, Reginelli joined the local coaching ranks. He became the head coach at Newman High School in 1968, a position he would hold down for 26 years. Upon retirement, he had compiled a coaching mark of 203-63-0, for a winning percentage of 76.3. He is one of just five coaches in the Greater New Orleans area to win over 200 games in his career.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier bowl games in the country, having hosted 23 national champions, 86 Hall of Fame players, 46 Hall of Fame coaches and 15 Heisman Trophy winners in its 79-year history. The Bowl will host the 80th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic on January 2, 2014. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee is involved with various community initiatives through hosting and sponsorships of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 13,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2 billion into the local economy in the last decade.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo