Back to Articles

Semifinals Set for Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tourney

Thursday, November 29, 2012

The semifinal match-ups are set for the 2012 Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament. On Friday evening at Brother Martin High School, the home-standing Crusaders will hoist Jesuit at 6 p.m., followed by Newman against Holy Cross with the winners advancing to the Championship game on Saturday at 7:30 p.m. at Holy Cross.  This year marks the 59th year of the tournament and the fifth year that it has been sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

In Thursday's quarterfinal action, Brother Martin defeated East St. John in a three-overtime thriller, 80-77, while Jesuit upended two-time defending champion St. Augustine, 45-40. On the other side of the bracket, Newman topped St. Thomas Aquinas, 61-41 while Holy Cross defeated St. Paul, 64-55.

Thursday, Nov. 29 Quarterfinal Results
Brother Martin 80, East St. John 77 (3OT) (at Brother Martin) - story
Jesuit 45, St. Augustine 40 (at Jesuit) - story
Newman 61, St. Thomas Aquinas 41 (at Rummel) - story
Holy Cross 64, St. Paul 55 (at Holy Cross) - story

Thursday, Nov. 29 Consolation Results
Shaw 56, Wright 49 (at Brother Martin) - story
Karr 60, Northshore 57 (at Jesuit) - story
Rummel 39, Bonnabel 28 (at Rummel) - story
St. Charles 34, Hannan 28 (at Hannan) - story

Friday, Nov. 30 Semifinal Schedule
Brother Martin vs. Jesuit, 6 p.m. (at Brother Martin)
Newman vs. Holy Cross, 7:30 p.m. (at Brother Martin)

Last year, St. Augustine defeated Holy Cross, 76-52, to earn its second straight title in the Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament. Craig Victor, a 6-7 sophomore forward for the Purple Knights, earned Most Valuable Player honors for the second year in a row. In the 58-year history of the tournament, he is just the fifth player to earn MVP honors more than once. It is the 10th title in the event for St. Aug. Joining Victor on the All-Tournament team were Joseph Williams (East St. John), Sam Kohnke (Newman), Greg White-Pittman (Holy Cross), Wesley Pinera (Holy Cross) and Deion Taylor (St. Augustine).


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo