Back to Articles

Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Monday, October 1, 2012

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

David Ash, Texas
30-of-37, 304 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT
Ash converts on a crucial fourth-and-four late in the fourth quarter to keep Texas alive on what proved to be the game-winning drive as he leads the Longhorns to a 41-36 road victory over Oklahoma State.

Derek Carr, Fresno State
42-of-56, 536 yards, 5 TDs, 2 INT
Carr becomes the first Bulldog quarterback to throw for 500 yards since his older brother David in 2001 as he leads Fresno State to a 52-40 victory over San Diego State in its Mountain West debut.

Zac Dysert, Miami (Ohio)
34-of-49, 516 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT
Dysert's 104 rushing yards make him the first player in FBS history to pass for 500 and rush for 100 as he turns in a memorable performance, throwing a school-record six touchdowns and leading the Red Hawks to the go-ahead score with 1:04 to go in a key 56-49 MAC victory over Akron.

Nick Florence, Baylor
29-of-47, 581 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT
Florence, who also rushes for a touchdown, breaks RGIII's school record for passing yards, leading the Bears to 63 points, but it's not enough in a wild 70-63 loss to West Virginia.

Sean Mannion, Oregon State
29-of-45, 433 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT
Mannion sets his career-high for passing yards and delivers a 9-yard touchdown pass with 1:09 to go to maintain the Beavers' perfect season with a thrilling 38-35 victory over Arizona.

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
29-of-38, 453 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT
Manziel sets a school record for passing yards and an SEC record for total offense as he adds 104 rushing yards to lead the Aggies to their first SEC win, 58-10, over Arkansas.

Stephen Morris, Miami
26-of-49, 566 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT
Morris throws for a school- and ACC-record number of yards and wrap up the afternoon with a 62-yard touchdown strike with 19 seconds to go to lift the Hurricanes to a 44-37 over North Carolina State.

Geno Smith, West Virginia
45-of-51, 656 yards, 8 TDs, 0 INT
Smith has a simply sensational performance, tying the conference record for TD passes and setting school marks for TDs, passing yards and completions as the Mountaineers need every point in a wild 70-63 win over Baylor in their Big 12 debut.

Last week's Manning Award Player of the Week was Colby Cameron from Louisiana Tech. A native of Newbury Park, Calif., Cameron led the Bulldogs to a quick start, and then tossed a pair of third-quarter touchdowns as Louisiana Tech blew out Big Ten foe Illinois, 52-24, on the road. The Bulldogs scored 31 unanswered points, improving to 3-0 on the season. They scored 50 or more points for the third consecutive game, marking the first time a LA Tech football team has accomplished the feat. It also marked the first time since 1997 that Tech opened the year with three straight victories. Cameron and the Bulldogs had a strong day on Saturday as well, upending Virginia on the road to remain undefeated.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo