Back to Articles

Allstate Sugar Bowl Regatta Prepares for 76th Year of Action

Friday, June 12, 2009

The Sugar Bowl Regatta has been held on Lake Ponchartrain every year since 1935, except during World War II. The sailing competition is divided up into two separate phases, spread out over four two-day periods, usually weekends, beginning in late November and concluding on New Year's Eve.

2009 Regatta Dates:
Optimist Mid-winters: Nov. 28 & 29
PHRF & High School: Dec. 19 & 20
One Design, BoardBoats & Optimist: Dec. 26 & 27
Intercollegiate: Dec. 30 & 31

The sailing competition features more than 200 sailboats divided into separate divisions. Sailing crews from all over the United States, including intercollegiate and high school teams, come to New Orleans not only to compete, but to take in the 60 and 70 degree temperatures and winds in the low teens to mid 20s.

The 2008 Allstate Sugar Bowl wrapped up another successful event on Lake Ponchartrain just before the 75th annual football classic. The winner of the intercollegiate regatta was Wisconsin, followed closely by Tulane and Texas A&M Galveston. The high school event was captured by Brother Martin. In the One Design and Board Boats categories, Buccaneer YC won the GYA Race of Champions; Daniel Moriarty won the Lightning classification; Jalapeno took first in the J30; Cahoula won the J22; and Victoria's Secret collected the Open Flying Scott title.



Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo