Back to Articles

Two Sugar Bowl Participants to be Inducted Into College Football Hall of Fame

Thursday, May 27, 2010


Two former Allstate Sugar Bowl participants are among the 14 members of the 2010 College Football Hall of Fame Class as announced by Archie Manning, the chairman of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame. Manning, himself, is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame as well as the Most Outstanding Player of the 1970 Sugar Bowl. He is also a member of the Allstate Sugar Bowl Committee.

The Sugar Bowl now has 44 former coaches and 77 former players who have been enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame.

The two former Sugar Bowl participants gaining induction to the College Hall of Fame are Ronnie Caveness (Arkansas, 1963) and Gene Stallings (head coach, Alabama, 1993).

The 2010 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) Class will be inducted at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 7, 2010, at the Waldorf=Astoria in New York City. They will be officially enshrined in 2011.

One of the last Arkansas players to start on both sides of the ball, Ronnie Caveness dominated the opposition to lead the Razorbacks to the 1964 National Championship. He was also part of the 1963 Sugar Bowl team for Arkansas. The Razorbacks lost to undefeated Ole Miss in that contest. Named a First Team All-Southwest Conference selection at both center and linebacker during his senior campaign, Caveness helped Arkansas to the 1964 conference championship on a team that was coached Hall of Famer Frank Broyles and included modern day football luminaries Jerry Jones and Jimmy Johnson. Caveness holds the Razorbacks record for most tackles made in consecutive seasons (309). Forty-five years later, he also still holds the top two spots on the school's rankings for most tackles in a game (29 and 25, respectively). The team captain was Arkansas' leading tackler in 21-straight games.

Gene Stallings was the head coach of Alabama's 1992 squad which went undefeated in the regular season, then defeated Miami, 34-13, in the 1993 Sugar Bowl to capture the National Championship. The Crimson Tide posted a 28- game winning streak during his tenure in Tuscaloosa. A member of College Football Hall of Fame coach Bear Bryant's "Junction Boys" as a player at Texas A&M, Stallings returned to his alma mater in 1965 as head coach. In his third season, the Aggies captured the Southwest Conference title. After spending the next 17 seasons as an NFL coach, Stallings took over as head coach of the Alabama Crimson Tide in 1990. Following back-to-back bowl appearances in his first two seasons, Stallings led the Tide to the 1992 National Championship. Stallings coached 13 First Team All- Americans during his head coaching career.

2010 College Football Hall of Fame Class

  • BARRY ALVAREZ - Head Coach, 118-73-4 (.615) - Wisconsin (1990-2005)
  • DENNIS BYRD - DT, North Carolina State (1964-67)
  • RONNIE CAVENESS - C, Arkansas (1962-64)
  • RAY CHILDRESS - DL, Texas A&M (1981-84)
  • RANDY CROSS - OG, UCLA (1973-75)
  • SAM CUNNINGHAM - RB, Southern California (1970-72)
  • MARK HERRMANN - QB, Purdue (1977-80)
  • CLARKSTON HINES - WR, Duke (1986-89)
  • DESMOND HOWARD - WR, Michigan (1989-91)
  • CHET MOELLER - DB, Navy (1973-75)
  • GENE STALLINGS - Head Coach, 89-70-1 (.559) - Texas A&M (1965-71), Alabama (1990-96)
  • JERRY STOVALL - HB, LSU (1960-62)
  • PAT TILLMAN - LB, Arizona State (1994-97)
  • ALFRED WILLIAMS - LB, Colorado (1987-90)


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo