Back to Articles

Allstate Sugar Bowl to Sponsor Track & Field Classic

Monday, January 11, 2010

Since 1993, the two-day Allstate Sugar Bowl Track & Field Classic has been the largest high school track and field invitational in Louisiana and features more than 100 boys and girls teams from Louisiana and surrounding states. Legendary Tad Gormley Stadium plays host to this event, which features some of the best athletes in the country. After a one-year hiatus due to renovations at Tad Gormley, the event will return on March 26-27. 2010.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Track & Field Classic

The 2008 Allstate Sugar Bowl Track & Field Classic offered up some fantastic performances by some of the elite high school talent from across the country (the 2009 event was cancelled due to stadium renovation).  Hoover High School standout, junior Anthony May, provided the crowd with a meet record high jump as he cleared 6'10" breaking the previous record of 6'9" set in 2005. May also competed in the triple jump, winning with a leap of 47'2.5", while also finishing third in the long jump. May's outstanding performances during the meet earned him the Boys Field Performer of the Meet honor.  

May provided his Hoover High team with the points needed to take the boy's 2008 team title over Wakefield High School (North Carolina). Hoover scored 75 points to Wakefield's 59. McDonough 35 of New Orleans finished third with 58 team points. 

Wakefield High was led by standout sprinters T.J. Graham and James Robinson, both of whom put on a great show. Graham captured both the 100-meter and 200-meter races in impressive fashion. Robinson also performed well, winning both the 110-meter hurdles and the 300-meter hurdles. Robinson's performances earned him Boy's Track Performer of the Meet accolades, an honor he shared with St. Paul's Episcopal School's (Alabama) Lee Gilmer, who won titles in the 800-meter run and 1600-meter run. 

St. Paul's Episcopal's girls track team won the 2008 team title scoring 95 points. Hoover was the runner-up with 63 points followed by Fontainebleau (Louisiana) with 56 points. St. Paul's was led by Mary Johnston, who won the girls 1600-meter run with meet record time of 5:06.16. She was also the runner-up in the 800-meter run (2:18.69) as she was named the Girls Track Co-Performer of the Meet following her record setting performance. Sharing the honor with Johnston was Cordova High's Dinesha Bean, winner of the 200, 400 and 100 meter hurdles.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo