Back to Articles

Meet the Manning Finalists - Tim Tebow

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Tim Tebow (Florida, Senior) is looking to become the first repeat winner of the Manning Award after taking home the honor last season as a junior. On the season, he has completed 182-of-279 passes for 2,413 yards with 18 touchdowns and five interceptions. On the ground, Tebow has 203 carries for 859 yards and 13 touchdowns, bringing him to 56 for his career which broke the SEC rushing touchdown record that was held by Herschel Walker (Georgia, 1980-82). He has also set the SEC career record for rushing yards by a quarterback with 2,896. Tebow's career passer rating of 168.5 currently ranks No. 1 in SEC history (min. 300 completions). He has recorded both rushing and passing touchdowns in seven games this season, including two of each against Georgia as well as two rushing and three passing against Florida State. He passed for a season-high four touchdowns against Troy and has now thrown a scoring pass in 38 of 40 career starts. Tebow will lead the Gators to face Cincinnati in the Allstate Sugar Bowl on Fox, Jan. 1 at 7:30 p.m. CT.

Manning Award Finalists

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last season's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who is making his bid to become the first two-time winner of the honor this year.





Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo