Back to Articles

Meet the Manning Finalists - Kellen Moore

Sunday, December 20, 2009

Kellen Moore (Boise State, Sophomore) leads the nation in pass efficiency with a 167.3 rating, and has the second most touchdown passes at 39, which is a Broncos' school record for a single season. On the season, he has completed 254-of-392 passes (64.8 percent) for 3,325 yards with just three interceptions. He was named the 2009 WAC Offensive Player of the Year. Moore looks to lead Boise State to its second undefeated season in four years when the Broncos travel to Glendale, Ariz. on Jan. 4 to face TCU in the Fiesta Bowl on FOX at 7 p.m. CT.

Manning Award Finalists

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last season's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who is making his bid to become the first two-time winner of the honor this year.






Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo