Back to Articles

Stanley Cohn Selected as 60th Sugar Bowl President

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Stanley J. Cohn, a successful lawyer and Tulane University graduate, has been selected as the Sugar Bowl Committee's President for the 2016-17 year. Cohn, a native of Union Springs, Ala., has been a member of the Sugar Bowl Committee since 1998. He is the 60th president of the organization and will oversee the 84th annual playing of the Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic on January 1, 2018 as well as the bowl's annual slate of over 50 other events throughout the year.

"Like so many children growing up in rural Alabama, I developed a passion for college football early in my life," Cohn Said. "After coming to New Orleans as an 18-year old Tulane freshman, it was a natural for me to gravitate during my post-graduate life to a civic organization like the Sugar Bowl which supports our local community in so many ways and hosts a major college football bowl game each year. My goals are to maintain the Sugar Bowl's status as a highly regarded New Year's Six bowl and position the organization to successfully maneuver the challenges which lie ahead due to the constantly changing college football landscape."

This year's Allstate Sugar Bowl will also double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal. It will be the second time the Sugar Bowl has hosted a semifinal game - the first time was a hugely successful match-up between Alabama and Ohio State in the 2015 Allstate Sugar Bowl. Ohio State won the game 42-35 and went on to claim the national championship, becoming the 27th national champion to be hosted by the Sugar Bowl.

The match-up for the Allstate Sugar Bowl will be determined by the College Football Playoff Selection Committee. The committee will rank the top teams in the country with the top four in the final ranking (to be released Sunday, December 3) being paired up in the Playoff Semifinals. The Rose Bowl will host the other semifinal game.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl will also continue its prominent position in the community by hosting and sponsoring over 50 amateur sporting events in 2017. Included in those events are every Louisiana High School Athletic Association state championship; the Crescent City Classic, a nationally-recognized road race featuring over 20,000 participants; the Manning Award, which honors college football's top quarterback; three basketball tournaments; two volleyball tournaments; two soccer sponsorships; and events in baseball, bowling, cross country, golf, lacrosse, sailing, tennis and track and field.

The Sugar Bowl Committee was founded as the New Orleans Mid-Winter Sports Association in 1934 for the purpose of promoting amateur sporting events that would stimulate tourism and have a positive economic effect on the New Orleans metropolitan area. Over the last decade, the Sugar Bowl has had an economic impact of over $2.5 billion for the city and state.

Since being elected to the Sugar Bowl Committee in 1998, Cohn has served on a wide-range of committees, including several years on the bowl's Executive Committee and chairing the bowl's Team Liaison, Conference Liaison, Player's Liaison, Swimming and National Football Foundation committees. In 2010, he was recognized by the National Football Foundation as a national chapter leader. Additionally, Cohn has served as a Sugar Bowl officer the past four years.

Cohn succeeds Chuck Lapeyre, who directed the organization through the past year, and will serve with fellow officers Roderick K. West, President-Elect; Judge Monique Morial, Vice President; Ralph Capitelli, Treasurer; and Thomas Beron, Secretary. Furthermore, the Sugar Bowl's 58th President, Carey Wicker, was elected Chairman of the Executive Committee, and joining the 18-member Executive Committee for 2017-18 are Riley Busenlener, Lloyd Frischhertz and Judge Brian Jackson.

Cohn earned his bachelor of arts from Tulane in 1978. He followed that up with his juris doctor from Tulane in 1981. He has been a part of the Lugenbuhl, Wheaton, Peck, Rankin and Hubbard law firm since 1986, including the past 30 years as a shareholder. During his professional career, he has handled a wide-range of commercial litigation issues while being heavily involved with maritime matters and litigation.

In addition to his membership in the Sugar Bowl, he is part of the New Orleans Bar Association (past president), the American Counsel Association (past president), the American Bar Association, the Maritime Law Association of the United States and the Louisiana Defense Lawyers Association. He is also a past national president of the Tulane Alumni Association.

Cohn has been married for 36 years to the former Jane Sear and the couple have two children: Jeffrey (and spouse Danielle) and Jennifer (and spouse Jonathan Nierman).

About the Allstate Sugar Bowl
The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 27 national champions, 92 Hall of Fame players, 48 Hall of Fame coaches and 17 Heisman Trophy winners in its 83-year history. The 84th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, will be played on January 1, 2018. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 25,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.


Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo