Back to Articles

Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Finalists

Monday, November 30, 2009

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced its 10 finalists for this year's award on Tuesday. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a banquet in New Orleans. The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

Manning Award Finalists (updated 1/11 to include bowl stats)
 Quarterback School Com-Att Pct. Yards TD INT Wins
 Jimmy Clausen
 Notre Dame
 289-of-425 68.0 3722 28 4 6
 Andy Dalton
 TCU 199-of-323 61.6 2756 23 8 12
 Max Hall
 BYU 275-of-409 67.2 3560 33 14 11
 Case Keenum
 Houston 492-of-700 70.3 5671 44 15 10
 Dan LeFevour
 Cent. Michigan
 318-of-456 69.7 3438 28 7 12
 Ryan Mallett
 Arkansas 225-of-403 55.8 3627 30 7 8
 Colt McCoy
 Texas 332-of-470 70.6 3521 27 12 13
 Kellen Moore
 Boise State
 277-of-431 64.3 3536 39 3 14
 Tony Pike
 Cincinnati 211-of-338 62.4 2520 29 6 9
 Tim Tebow
 Florida 213-of-314 67.8 2895 21 5 13

This year's finalists are an outstanding class which includes five players from undefeated teams and a combined 102 victories with over 30,000 passing yards and 275 touchdowns. As far as national statistical leaders, eight of the top 12 in touchdown passes, five of the top 10 in passing yardage and 10 of the top 12 in passing efficiency are included on the list.

"It has been another entertaining year to watch great quarterbacks in college football," Archie Manning said. "There have been outstanding performances by so many different players, but we are very excited with this list of 10 quarterbacks which we think represent the best that college football has to offer. We will be very excited to follow these 10 young men through the bowl season and then decide which one is the best in the nation."

The winner will be announced on Thursday, Jan. 14.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last season's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who is making his bid to become the first two-time winner of the honor this year.




Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo