Oklahoma State’s Spencer Sanders Named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 30, 2021) – Spencer Sanders, a redshirt junior from Oklahoma State University, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Facebook Voting

Sanders, a Denton, Texas native, completed 22-of-34 passes for 344 yards and two touchdowns, while also rushing for a score, in a 31-20 Big 12 victory over No. 25 Kansas State. His 344 passing yards set a season-high and marked the third-highest total of his career.

The 6-foot-1, 210-pound signal caller connected with running back Jaylen Warren for a 52-yard pass completion on OSU’s first play from scrimmage. It was the Cowboys’ longest pass play of the season to date. Oklahoma State’s 31 points and 481 yards of total offense both set season highs.

Sanders and the No. 19 Cowboys will look to extend their current winning streak to seven games, their longest since 2016, when they host No. 21 Baylor on Saturday at 6 p.m. CT on ESPN2.

The closest competition for Sanders and the Cowboy fans came from Georgia Tech’s Jeff Sims and Jake Haener of Fresno State. Sims came off the bench to rush for 128 yards on 10 carries while scoring three touchdowns on the ground, leading the Yellow Jackets to an impressive 24-22 upset of No. 21 North Carolina in an ACC showdown. Through the air, he was 10-of-12 for 112 yards and one touchdown. Haener notched his eighth 300-yard game and set a career high for touchdown passes in a Mountain West victory over UNLV, 38-30. He was 30-of-42 passing for 378 yards and five touchdowns, four coming in the second half, to lead the Bulldogs back from a 12-point deficit.

While the Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 17 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 13 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Mac Jones, Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with six Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) have each had two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.