Sam Houston State Takes Title at Allstate Sugar Bowl Bowling Invitational park

Sam Houston State, the defending national champion for NCAA Bowling, captured the title at the Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Bowling Invitational on Sunday at the AMF All-Star Lanes in Kenner, La.

The Bearkats, who entered the weekend ranked No. 3 in the country, held off Stephen F. Austin, the defending champion in the tournament, 4-3, in the final round. The Lumberjacks are ranked No. 9 in the country. Fourth-ranked Vanderbilt finished third overall, while host Tulane and UAB rounded out the top five.

Stephen F. Austin freshman Stephanie Schwartz earned the MVP honors with a 241.6 average. The other three all-tournament team members included SFA's Paige Kraushaar (221.4), Tulane's Michelle Ng (215.2), Texas Southern's Jelesa Maryland (210.0) and Bethune-Cookman's Ivory Miles (208.4). Ng, a freshman, registered a tournament record 289 in Saturday's first game.

Full Results:

  1. Sam Houston State (11-1)
  2. Stephen F. Austin (9-2)
  3. Vanderbilt (9-3)
  4. Tulane (8-4)
  5. UAB (7-5)
  6. Bethune-Cookman (6-7)
  7. Alabama State (7-5)
  8. Texas Southern (5-7)
  9. Alabama A&M (4-9)
  10. Louisiana Tech (4-8)
  11. Jackson State (3-9)
  12. Florida A&M (4-9)
  13. Southern (1-9)

The tournament opened on Friday, Oct. 17 with 5×4 Baker games. In the Baker format, starting members of the competing teams will successively and, in regular order, bowl one frame on one lane. Once five frames are completed, the team members will remain on the same lane and complete the starting member order again, with frames six through 10 being completed. This pattern of play will continue until all 10 frames of a game are completed. No changes can be made in the order of players after the start of a game, except for substitutes, although once a bowler has been pulled from the game they are not allowed to return until the next game.

The teams then squared off on Saturday at 10:30 a.m. with five team games. In the five-person team game, starting members of the competing teams will successively and, in regular order, bowl one frame on one lane. Once completed, the team members shall move to the alternate lane of the competition pair. This pattern of play continues until all 10 frames of a game are complete. The same substitution rules as Baker will apply.

The tournament concluded Sunday with a tournament at 8:30 a.m. The tournament, consisting of Best 4-of-7 Baker matches, determined the champion. The 11 teams were seeded based on the performance on Friday and Saturday.

The NCAA first sanctioned a women's bowling championship in 2004. The collegiate bowling season is the winter with the championship played in April, featuring teams from Division I, Division II and Division III all competing in the same bracket. Tulane has sponsored a women's bowling team since 2011.