Back to Articles

Fresno State's Derek Carr Earns Manning Award Player of the Week Honor

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Derek Carr, a junior from Fresno State University, has been selected as this week's Manning Award Player of the Week. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest.

Carr, a Bakersfield, Calif. native, passed for 452 yards and four touchdowns en route to a 48-15 win over Air Force to claim a share of the Mountain West Conference championship, the school's first conference title since 1999. The Bulldogs (9-3, 7-1) share the MWC title with San Diego State, which defeated Wyoming 42-28 last Saturday. Boise State can make it a three-way split by defeating Nevada this Saturday.

Carr set a Fresno State single-game record for highest completion percentage by connecting on 28-of-32 passes for 87.5 percent. After the victory, Carr announced he would return for his senior season in 2013.

This was Carr's third game this season throwing for over 400 yards with at least four touchdowns and he is one of three quarterbacks in the nation that has done so.  His three 400-yard passing games this year has also set a new Mountain West single-season record.

Carr's top competitors in voting this week were Robert Marve of Purdue and Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel. Marve completed 20-of-29 passes for 348 yards with four touchdowns and one interception. He recorded a career-best in passing yards while leading the Boilermakers to a 56-35 victory over Indiana to  not only retain the Old Oaken Bucket, but also to become bowl eligible for the second straight year. Manziel completed 32-of-44 passes for 372 yards with three touchdowns and one interception. The freshman star also rushed for 67 yards and two touchdowns as he broke the SEC record for total offense in a season in a 59-29 win over Missouri, giving the Aggies their first 10-win season since 1998.

Check out this week's final fan voting numbers on Facebook here. 

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Visit the Manning Award page here. 

The honor will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).