Back to Articles

Oregon's Marcus Mariota Earns Manning Award Player of the Week Honor

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Marcus Mariota, a freshman from the University of Oregon, has been selected as this week's Manning Award Player of the Week. In his first nomination, Mariota earned the second most-ever votes to claim the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest.

Mariota threw more touchdown passes than incompletions, going 20-of-23 for 304 yards and four scores defeating USC 62-51. He added 96 rushing yards and set a career best with 400 yards of total offense. Mariota's 22 touchdown passes are the most by a freshman in Pac-12 history, breaking Ortege Jenkins' previous mark of 19 with Arizona in 1997. His completion percentage of 70.51% is currently higher than former Oklahoma quarterback Sam Bradford's NCAA freshman record of 69.5%.

The Ducks (9-0, 6-0 Pac-12), ranked second nationally behind Alabama in the latest AP poll, scored nine offensive touchdowns for the second straight week and their 730 yards and 62 points were the most ever allowed by USC in its storied 124-year football history.

Oregon looks to remain undefeated as they travel to Berkeley to take on the Cal Bears on Nov. 10 at 9:30 p.m. CT.

Behind Mariota in this week's Manning Award contest were Aaron Murray of Georgia and Louisville's Terry Bridgewater. After trailing by 10 early, Murray led the Bulldogs to 37 unanswered points in a 37-10 victory over Ole Miss to bring Georgia within one game of clinching the SEC East title. Bridgewater threw for a career-high five touchdowns as he rallied the Cardinals from a deficit for the sixth straight game to keep his team perfect and lift them into the top 10 of the BCS Standings.

Check out the final fan voting numbers on Facebook here.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Visit the Manning Award page here.

The honor will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the
starting uarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).