Back to Articles

Oregon State's Cody Vaz Earns Manning Award Player of the Week Honor

Thursday, October 18, 2012

Cody Vaz, a junior from Oregon State, has been selected as this week's Manning Award Player of the Week. In his first nomination, Vaz earns the third most-ever votes to claim the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest.

Vaz, a native of Lodi, Calif., played his first game since 2010 last Saturday and made his initial collegiate start. He passed for 332 yards and three touchdowns, completing 20-of-32 pass attempts against a BYU team that ranked among the national leaders for total defense. His 332 yards were the most by a Beaver quarterback making his first start since Matt Moore in the 2005 season opener against Portland State.

Vaz' performance named him the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week after leading the now No. 8 Oregon State Beavers to a 42-24 victory at BYU. His first collegiate touchdown came on the opening drive of the game with an 11-yard pass to Marcus Wheaton. The Beavers advanced their record to 5-0 for the first time since OSU opened the season 5-0 in 1939.

Eighth-ranked Oregon State (5-0, 3-0 in Pac-12) returns home this week to host the Utah Utes (2-4, 0-3). The game will kickoff at 9:36 p.m. CT on ESPN2.

Behind Robinson in this week's Manning Award contest were Colby Cameron of Louisiana Tech and Arkansas' Tyler Wilson. After a slow start, Cameron and the Bulldogs come to life, nearly erasing a 23-point second-half deficit before coming up just short in a 59-57 shootout with Texas A&M. Cameron completed 44-of-58 passes for 450 yards with five touchdowns and no interceptions. Wilson threw a 74-yard touchdown pass on the first play of the game and kept on rolling to a career-high five touchdowns in less than three quarters of play as the Razorbacks beat Kentucky 49-7 in a weather-shortened game. Wilson finished the game 23-of-31 with 372 yards, five touchdowns and no interceptions.

Check out the final fan voting numbers on Facebook here.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Visit the Manning Award page here.

The honor will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting uarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).  

~ ~