Back to Articles

McDonogh 35's Stalbert Earns Athlete of the Month Honor

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

After a sensational month on the track, sophomore sprinter Marcquita Stalbert has been selected as the Greater New Orleans Amateur Athlete of the Month for May. The McDonogh 35 standout topped two college baseball stars in balloting by the Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Greater New Orleans Amateur Athletes of the Month

Stalbert led McDonogh 35 to the 4A Louisiana Outdoor Track and Field Championship at Bernie Moore Stadium in Baton Rouge on May 5. The sophomore was a state champion in four different events and scored 32.5 of her team's 61 points as she was named the Most Outstanding Athlete for the state meet. She broke the 32-year old composite state record in the 400-meter dash with a time of 53.73 seconds. She also won the 200-meter run (23.76) and completed the sprint triple crown by winning the 100-meter run (11.67). For good measure, Stalbert made it a grand slam by running the anchor leg on the winning 4x200-meter relay team for the Lady Roneagles. Stalbert, who has a 3.6 GPA, ranks fifth in the nation in the 400-meter dash, seventh in the 200 and seventh in the 100. 

The high school sprint star beat out Tulane pitcher Alex Byo and Delgado center fielder Sean McMullen for the honor. Byo compiled a 3-1 record with an ERA of 2.89, including a crucial victory over East Carolina in the Conference USA Tournament. McMullen posted a sizzling .538 batting average including 14 hits in 26 at bats, scoring eight runs, with nine RBI, three doubles, one home run and three walks in six contests in May.

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee has been selecting an Amateur Athlete of the Month each month since 1958. The athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region in order to be eligible. Each of the monthly award winners will be honored in the summer at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony, hosted by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.