Back to Articles

Curtis Softballer Brignac Earns NOLA Monthly Honor

Friday, May 11, 2012

Katie Brignac, a pitcher for the John Curtis Christian School softball team, has been selected as the Greater New Orleans Amateur Athlete of the Month for April. The sophomore edged Loyola track standout Sarah Tortorich in balloting by the Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Greater New Orleans Athletes of the Month

Throughout the month of April, Brignac was a primary reason for the Lady Patriots capturing the sixth state title in school history. As a pitcher, she had a perfect 0.00 ERA, including a pair of perfect games and five shutouts.  She recorded 54 strikeouts throughout her six games during the month. The sophomore not only excelled on the mound, but with the bat, as she slammed five home runs during the month. She was named the Most Outstanding Player of the state tournament and also collected ESPN Player of the Week recognition for the Southeastern United States.

For the season, the young hurler had an overall 0.35 ERA with 217 strikeouts. As a batter, she had a .720 on-base percentage. She is also a member of the National Honor Society.

Finishing second in balloting was Sarah Tortorich from Loyola, who broke the school's 400-meter record twice during the month. She first bested the mark on April 14 at the USA Invitational with a time of 57.85. Then six days later, she improved the mark with a time of 57.76 at the Southeastern Invitational. She also broke the school record for the 200-meter dash, when she recorded a time of 25.27 at the USA Invitational.

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee has been selecting an Amateur Athlete of the Month each month since 1958. The athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region in order to be eligible. Each of the monthly award winners will be honored in the summer at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony, hosted by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.