Back to Articles

NCAA Men's Basketball Regional Comes to New Orleans this Month

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

The Allstate Sugar Bowl is part of the hosting committee for the 2012 NCAA Men’s Basketball Final Four, which includes an NCAA Regional Championship at the New Orleans Arena on March 24 and 26. The Sugar Bowl is part of the support group for host school Tulane University. Tickets are available for the games by clicking here.

NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament Bracket

The Southeast Regional is highlighted by No. 1 seed Pittsburgh, as well as No. 2 Florida, No. 3 BYU and No. 4 Wisconsin. BYU star Jimmer Fredette is considered a top candidate for national Player of the Year honors. Also in the Southeast Regional is eighth-seeded Butler, which was the Cinderella of last year's NCAA Tournament, advancing all the way to the Championship game. Other nationally known programs include No. 5 Kansas State, No. 6 St. John's, No. 7 UCLA and No. 10 Michigan State.

This year’s Southeast Regional is the second of three years of NCAA Men’s Basketball events coming to New Orleans. Last year, the Allstate Sugar Bowl was part of the hosting organization for First & Second Round games. This year’s Regional is the 11th Regional Championship for New Orleans, while the 2012 Final Four, to be played in the Louisiana Superdome, will be the fifth Final Four for the Crescent City.

The previous four Final Fours in New Orleans have all been among the most memorable in the event’s grand history. In 1982, Dean Smith captured his first National Championship as a freshman named Michael Jordan buried the game-winning shot to upend Georgetown. In 1987, it was Bobby Knight and Indiana defeating Syracuse on a baseline jumper by Keith Smart. Smith was back again in 1993, as his North Carolina team defeated the Fab Five from Michigan. And in 2003, Jim Boeheim made up for his 1987 loss as freshman Carmelo Anthony led Syracuse to a win over Kansas.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has a rich history with the sport of basketball, as well as football. Dating back as far as 1936, the Sugar Bowl has sponsored basketball events in conjunction with the annual football classic. In addition, the Bowl has been a sponsor for multiple local events in the sport.

Following the 2012 event being awarded to New Orleans, Atlanta will host 2013, Dallas will host 2014, Indianapolis will host 2015 and Houston collected the 2016 event.

The NCAA awarded the 2013 Women’s Final Four to New Orleans as well, but the two bids are unrelated.