Back to Articles

Judge Lance Africk Named 54th Sugar Bowl President

Sunday, February 20, 2011

U.S. District Court Judge Lance Africk has been named the Sugar Bowl Committee's President for the 2011-2012 year.  Judge Africk, who has resided in New Orleans since 1975, is the 54th president of the organization.  He will oversee both the 78th Annual Allstate Sugar Bowl and the 2012 BCS National Championship Game.

Since joining the Sugar Bowl Committee in 1998, Judge Africk has served in several officer positions and has been involved with numerous Sugar Bowl committees.  He succeeds David B. Melius, who directed the organization through the 2010 year as well as the January 4, 2011 Allstate Sugar Bowl Classic between Ohio State and Arkansas.  He will serve with Jack Laborde, President-Elect; John A. "Jay" Batt, Jr., Vice-President; Dennis J. Waldron, Treasurer; and T. Carey Wicker, Secretary.  The Sugar Bowl's 52nd President, Richard R. Smith, was elected Chairman of the Executive Committee. Kyle M. France, Gary J. Glueck and William J. Kearney, IV, were elected to the Executive Committee.

"Being elected Sugar Bowl President is a tremendous honor which I welcome as an opportunity to further serve the community," remarked Judge Africk. 

"Through the energetic work of our volunteer members, staff, and fellow citizens, the Sugar Bowl serves as a catalyst for the preservation and continued growth of our city and state," Judge Africk stated.  "As the second oldest bowl game in the United States, the Sugar Bowl has a long history of community service through amateur athletics and the organization remains resolute in its commitment to that legacy and to the economic growth of our community.  Being permitted to act as a steward of this historic bowl is an opportunity for which I am most grateful."

Judge Africk is currently a United States District Court Judge, a position he has held since being nominated to that position by President George W. Bush in 2002.  Prior to that, he served as a U.S. Magistrate Judge for twelve years.  He also previously served as Chief of the Criminal Division of the United States Attorney's Office for approximately eight years and as the Director of the Career Criminal Bureau of the Orleans Parish District Attorney's Office.  In addition to serving as an adjunct professor of law at the Tulane University School of Law, Judge Africk has lectured at many continuing legal education programs, including the FBI Academy in Quantico, Virginia and U.S. Sentencing Commission conferences.  He has authored several articles in the area of criminal law and he is currently serving as a member of the Criminal Law Committee of the Judicial Conference of the United States, having been appointed to that position by the late U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist and reappointed by U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr. Judge Africk is to be inducted into the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame in July of 2011.

After earning his bachelor's degree from the University of North Carolina in 1973, Judge Africk went on to earn his Juris Doctorate from the same school in 1975.  He came to New Orleans, La., to work as a judicial law clerk following his law school graduation.  Judge Africk is married to Lisa Michele Africk, who practices law in New Orleans.

The Sugar Bowl Committee was founded as the New Orleans Mid-Winter Sports Association in 1934 for the purpose of promoting amateur sporting events that would stimulate tourism and have a positive economic effect on the New Orleans metropolitan area.  The 2011 game is estimated to have had an economic impact of over $180 million. When the organization last "double-hosted," it brought over $400 million of economic impact to the State of Louisiana and the City of New Orleans. The Sugar Bowl has brought over one billion dollars of economic stimulus to the region over the last five years.