Back to Articles

Sugar Bowl's CYO Basketball Tourney Tips Off Wednesday

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

NEW ORLEANS - For the third straight year, the Allstate Sugar Bowl will sponsor the Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament. The 2010 event will run from Dec. 1-4 and will be played at four local high schools: Brother Martin, Jesuit, Rummel and St. Augustine. This year marks the 57th year of the tournament.

"We are grateful for the support of the Allstate Sugar Bowl again this year," said CYO Director John Smestad.  "This partnership with the CYO brings together two great athletic traditions in New Orleans, and we look forward to another opportunity to showcase the best in high school basketball."

This year's event will once again feature 16 teams: East St. John, St. Thomas Aquinas, Rummel, St. Charles, Ellender, Northshore, Brother Martin, Bonnabel, Slidell, Holy Cross, St. Augustine, West Jefferson, Jesuit, St. Paul's, Shaw and Karr.

"The Allstate Sugar Bowl is proud to play a role in this long-standing New Orleans tradition," said Sugar Bowl President David Melius. "The CYO Tournament has historically showcased the best teams, coaches and players in the New Orleans area and the games have ranked among the most competitive and exciting of any given year.  We're looking forward to more of the same this week."

Last year's event featured 16 boys' high school teams playing in 25 games. Jesuit High School held off St. Augustine, 58-50, to win the championship with the Blue Jays' Colby Kiefer earning the event's Most Valuable Player honor. It was Jesuit's first CYO Title since 2005.